Failed to stop tracking cookies in marketing

Hannah Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readApr 9, 2023

When are you aware of cookies?

It is embarrassing that the time I realized the existence of tracking cookies is when the website asked me “Do you allow cookies in this website/app or not?”

And then I began to know what tracking cookies are, it is a specific type of cookie that can only track user activity through pages related to a site’s advertising. My first impression is Ohh, I gonna stop the tracking cookies whenever I see the option”. Since the sense of privacy, I don’t like my information being shared among different sites.

However, I cannot stop all the tracking cookies from all my devices, so they always got a chance to infer what am I doing and what I am looking for. Unexpectedly, I benefited from these recommendations because I can get the items or information the first time when I was striving to search.

Good to use

Although the risk of privacy disclosure, more convenient purchases are saving me lots of time for me. So I begin to allow some cookies when I see these options “Allow cookies while I am using the app”. The transition is fast once I got the benefits of cookies with the security of my important information.

The World of Digital Marketing

As a marketer, tracking cookies are providing numerous benefits for marketers to target our audiences. It is a win-win situation that both benefits users and marketers when we both have the intention to purchase and sell products.

There are over 51% of marketers in the US say that data from third-party cookies were very important for their digital marketing strategy. And marketing is exclusively done through social media platforms. So the end of tracking cookies would create lots of inconvenience for digital marketing.

The relationship between cookies and digital marketing

Imagine that you are visiting a supermarket and browsing its aisles. You come back to the store now and then to make purchases, and the employees there are familiar with your purchase history. When you visit the store next time, they offer you special offers and combo packs based on your past purchases to entice you to keep coming back and make more purchases.

This is what cookies do for digital marketers. In this example, the store is a website, and the employees who reported the buying pattern of the customer are cookies. Cookies allow digital marketers to gain insight into the people who visit their websites, which helps them improve user experience and generate more leads.

After my consideration, I don’t believe customers will be more satisfied without tracking cookies. Which provides lots of information for marketers to come up with ideas to give back to customers. Some benefits are measured Ad impression, targeted Ads, retargeting strategies, and improved customer engagements.

--

--

Hannah Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Marketing with Digital emphasis in University of Georgia - Marketing in Data Analysis in NYU - Lots of marketing, music, food, self-discipline, and better self