Fake it until you make it

Shuwen Luo
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJan 31, 2022

“Fake it until you make it” which means be confident and keep working for it till you make it. I used to hear friends repeat this line all the time. I’m now slowly starting to understand and use it in real life. For me, blogging is a new beginning and a new challenge, but I’m so excited to start doing that and hopefully become an expert one day. Wait a minute, I appear to have neglected to introduce myself lol… this should not have happened on the first blog entry.

Wachusett Mountain Ski Area, MA

About me

By the way, my name is Shuwen Luo, but you can call me “Sue” if that’s easier for you to say. I was born in Chongqing, China, a city known for its fiery food, particularly hot pot. This city has over 30,000 hot pot restaurants, and practically all residents are food connoisseurs. Without a doubt, I am a foodie as well. This is also one of the main reasons I decided to study in New York. Every weekend, I go out with my buddies to look for cuisine and beverages from various nations. In addition to traveling and shopping, this is one of the motivations that help me with my studies and life.

Dinner with friends to celebrate the end of the first semester, in Flushing, NY

I earned a bachelor’s degree in Economics and Business Administration from the University of Arizona. My family encouraged me to work in a bank, so after graduating, I went to intern in the investment banking department of a securities firm in Guangzhou. During my time at work, I discovered that this was not a profession for me. So the following year, I moved to work for a new media company and met many brilliant we-media bloggers who posted on the Tiktok platform. Their enthusiasm and energy infected me, and I realized that I want to perform such trendy vocations that are closer to young people in the future. I think that integrated marketing is very widely used in today’s culture, and it can prompt me to keep an eye on market dynamics because marketers must always be sensitive to hot topics in society.

My favorite sunset scene, in Tucson, AZ

Some thoughts about blogging

There will always be some social gaps that will be impossible to close. We may not be able to replicate other people’s lives, but we may learn from their stories about their experiences and truths. This is what people may expect from the self-media era. Everything, in my opinion, has two sides. You can use it if you have control over it. If you allow it to control you, you will be eaten up by it and lose sight of your original objective.

Anyway, this is my first blog, and I’m not sure if anyone will be interested in what I have to say. In the coming days, I will actively learn and develop my blogging skills, hoping that my content may bring you joy or provide you with any useful information.

Hope we progress together and have a wonderful day!

--

--

Shuwen Luo
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Grad Student at NYU-Integrated Marketing • Digital Marketing • Economics • Food • Travel