Fall in LOVE | Be Yourself ❤️

Sammi Xue
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 13, 2022

“True love can’t happen in 9 seconds. A connection can’t really happen in 9 seconds. BUT introductions do happen in 9 seconds.” (Sally Hogshead, TED)

landscape pic. (internet)

After watching the TED talk by Sally Hogshead, I was quite impressed by her ideas about how to fascinate and how important the first 9 seconds are. We all live in a world full of information and is changing rapidly. How to adapt to the fast changing world and pursuit what we want are important.

Everyone is living with some meanings. We all have something caring about: health, money, fame, love, relationship… Like what Sally said in her talk, if we can understand ourselves better, knowing our primary or secondary advantage, we can amplify it, express it, and become more of it.

me at Coney Island (21.10)

My archetype, which is the combination of my primary and secondary advantages, is “the coordinator”. There’re three adjectives describing my archetype: organized, practical, and constructive. This is how the world sees me. It’s similar to what I think about myself. I am organized and practical. No matter for my life or study, I’d like to plan before and consider the possible situations and results. Thus, I would not be too surprised or depressed if I get bad results. I don’t like to put myself in an uncertain circumstance. Being organized can be revealed in my clean and organized bedroom, clear and prepared calendar and so on. Being practical can be revealed when I always think of the benefits and costs of doing something. Being constructive can be revealed when I observe a situation quickly and make decisions or give suggestions accordingly.

About my fascination advantages, my primary advantage is “alert” and my secondary advantage is “passion”.

Primary advantage describes my most effective mode of communication which makes me fascinating and influential. Alert means that I am aware of a situation and can make swift action. It also means that I show a strong will and determination. I am quite agree with it and like how it describes my dominant advantage. Thinking of how I did in the past and how I can be better on this point. Since I‘m not used to put myself in unexpected conditions, I’d like to plan ahead. Even if I face bad or unexpected situations, I may fall depressed for awhile. However, I can adjust my mood fast and think about how to cope with it. Also, I am a person who grow up from setback, and I’m enjoy the moment when I realize reality and strive for it.

My secondary advantage is passion which describes me as: expressive, intuitive, and engaging. Passion means strong and immediate emotional connections. Being expressive and forming connections with people promote communication and build up relationships. Passion also means inspiring people to be involved and having sensitive 5 senses. It reminds me of the time being a leader. I was not good at command my group members. Rather, I liked to talk with them and became friends and then a leader.

emotion (cute baby & puppy)

Furthermore, the test results showed that my dominant advantage is “power”. Dominant advantage refers to the most exhausting and least effective way of communication. Using power to communicate will cost me disproportionate amount of energy and may not lead to success. I really agree with it. For example, when I was the group leader for student association, trying to control or command others would be tough for me and unhelpful. Like the test results points out, power is awkward and unnatural to me. Rather, I’d like to be persuasive and amiable, letting people voluntarily do their work.

sky at Coney Island (by me)

Doing this fascinate test gives me a new way to look at myself and consider how to take advantages of my personality. No one is perfect, and each kind of personality or archetype has its own advantages. Knowing them, understanding them, and amplifying them will make me a better person, especially at interpersonal relationships and at work. I feel the archetype and advantages true for me. The top five adjectives for my archetype “the coordinator” is: constructive, organized, practical, safeguard, and turned-in. In the future, I’ll apply them better in my work and life~

--

--

Sammi Xue
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Storyteller | NYU graduate student | UCI undergraduate | Chinese