Film directoršŸŽ¬ ļ¼ŸEntrepreneuršŸ’¼? This little girl? She canā€™t beā€¦!

Xintong Ye
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJan 26, 2024

Itā€™s a Xintong Yeā€™s film, but a little different this time.

Itā€™s a film about herself.

Still interested? Wait a second, Letā€™s dive in.

Filmmaking, are you kiddingā€¦?

ā€œWow, itā€™s a female director!ā€

Last year, when I was shooting my film, a friend of our team stuff came in, and that was the first word he said.

I know he didnā€™t mean any harm when he said that, and I wasnā€™t annoyed as well. I know the result will speak for itself.

However, it did make me think about the stereotypes and preconceptions we all carry.

Me, a ā€œconflictā€™ā€person?

Perhaps.

Me,in action, directing a scene.

People always view me as ā€œcuteā€, ā€œlovelyā€ and ā€œgentle ā€ when they first see me or just watch my photos. Yes, that might be part of me, but I am also ā€œstrongā€, ā€œthoughtfulā€, and maybe a little bit ā€œrebelliousā€.

Back in high school, I firmly made up my mind to study filmmaking and dreamed of becoming a film director, despite my familyā€™s reservations. They saw it as a waste of my academic potential.

But I know, that only by finding the things I truly love, can I be fully dedicated to it. Otherwise, I would just do ā€œso-soā€, I always know myself about that.

And then I did it! The movie is an art of dream. I couldnā€™t believe that the images, scenes, and stories that lingered in my mind could one day be real!

I became a film director, gathering and leading people together to make my little dream come true. That is the most satisfying thing I have ever done in my life.And guess what? Some of my short films even won awards. That was the icing on the cake!

Some frames of my film

Changing to study marketing, why doing thatļ¼Ÿ

As I mentioned before, I was obsessed with filmmaking, so why do I study marketing right now? Is that kind of betrayal of my dream and inner belief?

A good question.

No one made me do that.

I also like doing marketing and business. Shooting a film is about telling the story, and so does marketing. Itā€™s about creative ideas, influencing minds, and maybe even changing social norms.

A concept alone canā€™t convince, but a story does.

The power of story

I have learned the basic skill of making a short film, I am not quitting it. Conversely, I can go back to filmmaking whenever I want, as long as I have money.

Yes, that the money thing comes.

I was born and raised in a business family, and maybe that is also the reason they were against me studying filmmaking before, thatā€™s not a highly rewarding career.

But our family business didnā€™t go smoothly. In 2016, when I was only 15 years old, my grandparentā€™s company got bankrupt because of the financial crisis in China. I went from a ā€œPrincessā€ to ā€œCinderellaā€.

My family photoe back in 2016

However, I had also learned so much from that experience. I used to hate those ā€œbusiness peopleā€ since our family was deceived by them. But after I grow up, I have my perspective and judgment of the world. I would like to call those things ā€œhuman natureā€.

Itā€™s a reptileā€™s world?

Yes, it is.

So I wouldnā€™t be upset or surprised if people trickled me or even took advantage of me. But I still believe that, only by being sincere and kind, can a person laugh at the end. So does a product and a company.

Itā€˜s a ruthless world, but also a world full of chances and challenges.

Even if I still have a lot of things to learn, I am ready for it.

Whatā€™s the blog used for?

Firstly, as an NYU student majoring in Integrated Marketing, I use this blog to write my own marketing perception . It is the first time for me to write an English blog. Itā€™s a brand-new experience for me.

And I like it!!ā¤ļø

I feel like I can be free to express myself and share my own opinions and feelings compared to writing an essay. So this blog will also be my secret base where I can share my insight and record the growth of my mind.

Itā€™s more like writing a diary.Even though itā€™s a fast-paced era, we all prefer 15-second videos rather than long articles. But keep writing is always a romantic thing. I am glad I can keep doing that!

Last but not least, thank you for being here with me.

--

--

Xintong Ye
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Currently study Marketing in NYU | Used to be a director of film, but also a director of life......