Finding myself in the digital age

Yuchen Guo
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJul 6, 2023

“Nothing can bring you peace but yourself.”

HELLO EVERYONE! WELCOME TO MY BLOG!!!

I was born in Xi’an, a northern city in China.
Graduated from SVA with a BFA degree. Now, I am pursuing a Master’s degree in Integrated Marketing at New York University. In this digital age, information dissemination has become fast and easy, and I have a keen interest in sharing all aspects of life.

Xi’an City, China

I have lived and studied and worked in six different cities in China and the United States, which has allowed me to experience a rich and diverse life and culture. This diversity of experience has made me appreciate the opportunity to explore new things, and has made me weary of feeling defined and pigeonholed.

Starting out as a child under my parents’ strict upbringing, I was always forced to delay meeting my needs. I was often unable to make my own decisions on my own. I was eager to learn drums but was sent to piano lessons; I was passionate about street dance but was placed in singing lessons. I was an introverted and slow girl, and now I am called an “i-person”. But I don’t think I should be defined by a particular label, I prefer to remain unique and pursue new things and places that excite me. I prefer to remain unique, to pursue new things and places that excite me, to be brave enough to fight for my rights, and to learn to say no.

My passion for marketing stems from a job I once had at a buyer’s store in Shanghai, a start-up growth company. At that time, I had the opportunity to participate in the company’s marketing campaigns, marketing events and social media planning, and experienced digital marketing first-hand. I realized that in the digital age, marketing was no longer limited to traditional advertising and promotional tactics, but was more focused on personalized, data-driven and creative communication. This change fascinated me and inspired me to learn and explore digital marketing further.

The WeChat blogs run by me

When I saw this digital marketing course, I was delighted and did not hesitate to choose it. I look forward to learning and growing with you, my fellow like-minded partners, through this course. I hope to connect and share ideas with each other here and explore cutting-edge trends and best practices in marketing in the digital age.

Then, over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting articles so that we can learn and connect with each other. I will share my interests and I hope to meet people who share my interests. We can discuss various topics about digital marketing, social media strategy, content creation, brand building and more.

If you have any questions, please feel free to leave comments below, I will respond ASAP

--

--