First Aid Beauty? First Want Beauty!

Fanqun Zhou
Marketing in the Age of Digital
5 min readFeb 20, 2022
“Hey man, everyone can enjoy”

I like brands who let products speak for themselves. How did I know First Aid Beauty? Definitely not from their emails and stores directly, buy from social media when I search what’s best for dry skincare products. It’s not an exaggeration to say that many people have spontaneously written many positive recommendations for this brand, either on my own country’s social networking sites or sites like Instagram that everyone uses.

“I was amazed after using this product”

“If your skin needs first aid hydration, then you use this product, and your skin is so good the next day that it looks like it’s glowing”;

“I use it whenever I have skin problems”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7o6J00Eh6Vg

There were so many good reviews that I thought this was a trendy brand that I just hadn’t heard of before. And even after reading the reviews, I would think that these were advertisements bought by the brand (but possible). However, when I opened this website and its ins account, I found that this actually had some niche instead and was not as famous as these skincare brands like Kiehl’s.

People’s Comments About First Aid Beauty

Therefore, I decided to buy my first First Aid Beauty products, considering I have run out of all my lotions and want to find a better one. IT AMAZED ME when I opened their website cause it is pretty straightforward, with a well-designed guide. As a customer, I want to find what I need as quickly as possible and save time from looking around and comparing. First Aid Beauty’s website offers a very straightforward classification.

First Aid Beauty Official Website

First, you can choose what products you need, such as a daily cleanser, toner, cream, or body-type skincare products. Then you can choose among the products based on skin types, such as dry skin or oily skin. What I like most is that their website directly provides First Aid Beauty’s most popular star products at the very beginning, and these are the ones that I swiped to the most recommended in social media, so I don’t have to look hard at all. First Aid Beauty has designed its website with care. And, as I swiped through the site, no annoying Chat Box was popping up, no ads or first-time buyer discount pop-ups forcing me to fill out a registration account. It’s very bright that they summarized and categorized the consumer comments and then made a different box to show it. I think it’s very smart, an evolved version of Q&A, and I’m able to click directly on the part I want to understand, instead of clicking into each product page to read consumer reviews and questions, and then spending a lot of time summarizing and evaluating them myself.

Commitment Area

It is really a big WOW!

First Aid Beauty has also been speedy in adapting to the highly digital nature of the market now; with an exciting board, TikTok made me buy it. They feature many videos of famous Tiktokers using FAB products and encourage consumers to take videos of the same use and upload them directly to the website. Hey, I think I know! The reason why so many people recommend their products.

Also, as all skincare websites do, FAB offers a product shopping guide that gives you recommendations for the right products by answering simple questions. The question options are lovely and simple and clear, I had a painless time choosing, and each question was to the point and not redundant, increasing my level of trust in the results. Fell in love with this site.

One of their quiz questions

The only thing I feel could be done better is to put the bottom page of the discount section at the top of the page in a small window.

Here, you need to slide to the bottom to see the discount information

What did I learn?

The characteristics of the site also reflect the features of the products. Fashion websites are designed to be fancier and reflect the clothes’ tone. An immense feeling I got from browsing the First Aid Beauty website was clean, immaculate. The whole page has no extra information and options. I feel very refreshing and straightforward to scan down. You will not have to look at too many products or look at the site for too long to feel the feeling of wasting time. And the language used on the site is frank, no distance as if the consumer wants to know all the information listed, discount activities are also very conspicuous. This added a lot to my trust in the product, and even as a first-time shopper, I didn’t feel nervous about buying a bad product. This is what we should learn from designing our product websites afterward. In the era of Digital Marketing, we can eliminate the distance and establish the most direct connection with consumers, which is what we all want.

Thanks for Reading

To be continued…

--

--

Fanqun Zhou
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Dreamer | NYU-IM | Vlogger | NJAU | Love cats | Viva Ice Cream!