First stop——blogging

Yanqi Shen
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJan 28, 2024

Hi, I started blogging! It’s surprising, isn’t it? I’m not usually a person who likes to share. I prefer reading other people’s stories than creating my own. But now I am about to go from a background NPC to the protagonist on the stage. It was quite a challenge, but also a lot of fun! I’m looking forward to what’s next!

Who is this girl?

First, I’ll start by telling you who I am. I am Yanqi Shen from Fujian, China. Although I love to stay home and read, I still enjoy hiking. Especially in the afternoon with clear skies, walking in the quiet and vast hills allows my mind to escape from the troubles and unpleasantness of life, and get a short period of peace and relaxation.

Smoky Mountains

I and marketing

You’re probably wondering why I’m interested in marketing, right? I studied advertising as an undergraduate, and I have been fascinated by marketing since I was exposed to traditional core marketing theories in college. As my interest in marketing continues to grow, I am eager to master digital marketing tools through the systematic study of marketing theory.

Practice and theory are closely related twins. In college, I served as the president of the school advertising association and led members to participate in national advertising competitions many times. Outside of school, I worked as a furniture salesman. My role is to market the company’s furniture products through live streaming. Undeterred by the initial sales slump, I worked hard to change my communication style and capture my customers’ attention with interesting content. This experience also taught me that good stories are the wings of successful digital marketing. However, I still have some shortcomings in my profession, which prompted me to improve myself through the experience of graduate school. NYU has always been my dream school. By studying integrated marketing courses, I want to become a qualified brand founder. To better enrich my understanding, I will spend more time in the future learning how to market, including communication, consumer behavior, and branding.

New York City

I and New York

Besides, New York is a very charming city. The city that never sleeps not only means entertainment and feasting at night but also represents a passion and vitality for life. This is a place full of tolerance and diversity. In New York, you can communicate with people from different backgrounds and learn their stories. This is a unique life experience.

The Edge

Future expectations

Over the next 14 weeks or so, I’ll be taking a deep dive into the applications and impacts of digital marketing. I share my personal views and ask questions about evolving digital marketing trends, their impact, and their application in our daily lives as a professional marketer. I hope you can gain and be inspired by what I share.

let’s share it here today, thank you for seeing it here!

--

--