Flying 13000km to learn…

Vicky Wen
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJan 28, 2024

Hey, this is Vicky, a grad student majoring in Integrated Marketing at NYU.

I am from China and this is my first time to be an international student living alone in a foreign country. There is a 13-hour time difference between China and New York. Before I decided to come to the U.S., I asked myself a question: If I were 40 years old now, would I want to live in New York City, the busiest city in the world, for two years when I was in my early 20s, to experience a completely different culture, to interact with people from all over the world, or to have two years of work experience? My answer is that I want to come to New York. I love challenges and exploring the world.

A skater who can’t dance wouldn’t be a good marketer. That’s me.

First time to be a blogger

Well, I have to say, I am afraid of writing.

Growing up I was never a good writer. I can usually only write with very common words which are neither beautiful nor eye-catching. Now being a blogger is something I am very happy about because I took up the challenge from the course digital marketing. I am trying to challenge myself to do something I am not good at. Writing good, engaging content is also a necessary skill for marketers, so I’m excited to be able to write about my insights into marketing in my blog for the rest of the year!

“WHY do you choose marketing?”

I have answered this question a thousand times in my application materials, interviews, and self-introduction in the first class of every course.

I like marketing because marketing is a field that requires you to keep up with the times. Society is constantly changing and the internet is constantly evolving. Who would have thought 30 years ago that short social media videos would be the main source of news for people today? As a marketer, you have to be very keen to notice where consumers are. What are they saying and what do they want to hear? To be a competent marketer, you have to keep yourself abreast of the times and keep learning in the process, you will also maintain a younger mindset and be willing to interact with young people. There is never a universal template for marketing. You have to rely on yourself to analyze which region you are in, which era you are in, and who are the consumers you are dealing with. This gives me, a person who is very curious about the world and loves to learn, a great sense of satisfaction in the process of doing marketing.

Explore the future

We are in a time of rapid change. The internet has been invented for a long time and we have been in the age of digital marketing for a long time, but during that time, despite everything is a product of digital marketing, it has also been very different and has produced a lot of changes. For example, the new period of social platforms has fostered a large number of KOLs and KOC also known as influencer culture. Although there have been many changes in form, I understand that the core of marketing has not changed. Insight into the needs of the consumer and telling a good story to the consumer can be applied to marketing no matter what era it is in. So in the future, I will present some comparisons between today’s marketing campaigns and those of the past, and I will talk about what good marketing campaigns have in common, whether they are new or old.

--

--

Vicky Wen
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Marketer/Dancer/Skater...Always curious about this world is why I love marketing and why I am here