Frozen Garden — A Small Business Website User Experience

Xingyu Jiang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readFeb 27, 2021

Hi guys~

Recently, I have noticed that Kencko’s ad video is all over Youtube. Kencko provides instant smoothies. However, this reminds me of its’ competitor Frozen Garden.

Frozen Garden loves local farms and they source as many ingredients as possible from local farmers. Their purpose is to change the food industry and prove that it’s possible to eat real food that’s also convenient. When I looked at Frozen Garden’s website, the whole website experience for me is simple and unadorned. The theme color of this website is green which shows freshness and organic. Like they said “All the products are handcrafting with 100% real food”, this whole website design does give me a sense of originality.

Frozen Garden Online Website

The main navigation menu is straightforward and useful. Every visitors come to the website and with a mission. For me, once I scroll through all the pages, I can understand what is their website all about. It is user-centered and their content on the website is easy to understand. It’s not entertaining but it educates visitors. I can learn how they partner with local farmers and how credible their foods are through their website. Even-though the picture on the first main page is a little bit vague, to some extent, it gives me a cheap feeling. But, their website still delivers its value successfully.

Their website design is not innovative or I can say there’s no aesthetics. However, they still reflected the personality of the brand. They are simple, original, organic, fresh, crude, etc. On the other hand, they are not using AI to ease the conversation. Visitors can only access their customer services through phone or email without the use of an automated system. It’s inconvenient but I kinda understand. Like the founder said on their website, “ we still in small-town operation that handcrafts ready to blend Smoothies and water infusing Fusions in small batches. Thank you for being a customer and supporting our small business.” For me, I really value handmade stuff. It is precious, especially nowadays.

In a nutshell, I’m good with the Frozen Garden website user experience. By the way, I also checked their website on the phone. It is mobile optimized. Although the whole design is not innovative or beautiful, their content delivery and their modesty incorporate the hallmarks of a fascinating message.

Website design and user experience are important, they are critical factors for turning visitors into paying customers. However, from my perspective, a company’s sincere and honest value also matters. And they are indispensable.

--

--