Get to know CHANEL with influencer

Churan Zhao
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJun 27, 2022

CHANEL Number 5 is very famous. If you ask me to name a perfume very quickly, it must be CHANEL Number 5. However, I know little about it and never bought one.

This week, I watched the new videos from my favorite YouTuber Oh-Emma. It is a Vlog that records her trip to CHANEL’s rose garden in Grasse.

In her Vlog, I traveled with her to get to know about CHANEL. I know that CHANEL has its own rose garden for its fragrance. I know that May is the most important month for them to harvest roses. I know the knowledge about picking a rose. I also know how did CHANEL produce a glass of fragrance.

The gardener is teaching how to pick a rose

After I watched this Vlog, I have the impulse to purchase one CHANEL Number 5. For me watching the real experience in CHANEL rose garden, is more useful than watching their official advertising. Because advertising is not that real, it only has beautiful pictures, but no real experience.

Today, every brand is racking their brains to market the product. Sending products to influencers is a familiar method. Therefore customers are immune to influencers’ recommendations. What CHANEL did is not that familiar. CHANEL invited influencers to their rose garden and factories to see the story behind the product. I think every customer is curious about how their favorite fragrance is produced. People like me who never brought this fragrance may attract by this interesting travel vlog first and then get to know more about CHANEL. Therefore, I think this campaign is very successful. It is a new way to interact with customers.

--

--