Get to Know Me Better with the Fascination Advantage Test

Wenting Xu (Tina)
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJun 22, 2020

Archer:

My archetype is the archer, which means thinking and acting with accuracy, working through all potential consequences, and always on target. Three key words to describe archer are: precise, sharp and under-the-radar. I feel my archetype is mostly true as follow:

1. Work hard, acting with purpose rather than folly:

I usually go straight to the point in the meeting, chitchat among the team is acceptable, but too much chitchat is a waste of our time. Let’s talk business.

2. Pay attention to the fine print, and follow procedures in a methodical way:

I am a very detail-oriented person, for example checking all the grammars and punctuation in the paper and PowerPoint before submission, and practice before head to avoid mistakes. I also always follow instructions to make sure we hit all the points.

3. Don’t draw attention to achievements, don’t flaunt successes:

I like to get things done without drama. I am competitive, but I don’t want to boast about myself. I felt shy to talk about my achievements in the interview in the past, but now I think I just need to be honest about what I have done and don’t undersell myself.

However, I disagree with one thing about my archetype, which is quantitative thinking. I view myself as a qualitative and intuitive thinker because I like to solve problem and plan with qualitative information and creativity.

Mystique:

My primary advantage is mystique, and three keywords to describe me are: independent, logical and observant. I agree part of it as follow:

1. Make careful decisions, usually thinking before acting:

In order to influence others, I need to provide sufficient facts and reasoning. Therefore, I usually think thoroughly before giving out opinion.

2. Remain calm in situations of pressure:

I might feel nervous sometimes but I tend to hide it because I don’t want to make others nervous. When our team is going to present a case, I will usually be the one to cheer everyone up even though I am nervous too.

However, I somehow disagree with one statement of mystique, which is rarely showing inner emotions. I usually show my inner thoughts to people that I am close with. However, I don’t usually show my real emotions to someone I just met, because I don’t know whether they will understand me or not, and I feel it’s better to stay neutral at the beginning until we know each other better.

Alert:

My secondary advantage is alert, and three keywords to describe me are: proactive, organized and detailed. I agree mostly with it as follow:

1. Aware of all facets of a situation, and works to avoid unwelcome surprises:

I consider every possible outcome, and investigate before jump in. My teammates always trust me because they think I will keep things on point, and able to create swift action.

2. Exhibits a strong will and determination, and expects high-quality results:

I always expect to deliver good quality work, and work with high standards. I don’t usually tell my teammates, but will show it in my work as an example, so the others can follow.

Prestige:

Prestige is the most exhausting form of communication for me. I should try to avoid situations that force me to communicate with your dormant advantage, because it will cost me lots of energy and it’s unlikely to lead me to success. I’ll feel stuck, unable to move forward without using up all your energy.

The Fascination Advantage Test helps me to know myself better. I discover many of my advantages, such as focused, detail-oriented and logical. These abilities will enable me to think and analyze better as a marketer. However, I think that my qualitative, critical and creative thinking ability is not shown in the test, and this is also essential for a marketer. I need to further develop my core skills to become a better marketer!

--

--

Wenting Xu (Tina)
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A Marketing Enthusiast & Global Citizen | Graduate Student in NYU Integrated Marketing Program | Major in Brand Management