Give Me Another 9⃣️ Seconds🕙

Xiaotong Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJun 14, 2022

What is my archetype?

My archetype is CATALYST. The result shows that my archetype is a combination of my primary and secondary advantages, which is PASSION and INNOVATION. There are top five adjectives that describe how the world sees me, which are OUT-OF-THE-BOX, SOCIAL, ENERGIZING, ENTHUSIASTIC, and CREATIVE. The first impression I make is often energetic. My friends often say the same thing. I will enthusiastically embrace new situations and relationships. I tend to be vocal and use expressive gestures when expressing what I am good at. I usually don’t like repetitive linear tasks. I get bored and distracted if forced to follow a strict set of rules.

What are my primary and secondary triggers?

My primary trigger is PASSION. It shows that passion is one of the most compelling triggers. Using PASSION as a primary trigger, you can attract widespread attention through colorful words, ideas and actions. You can use PASSION to persuade, influence, engage and inspire everyone you meet. I tend to make warm emotional connections with friends quickly and establish strong and direct emotional connections. I engage others with a dynamic and engaging communication style. The result shows that Your approachable and transparent style makes you an “open book”. My friends often say I have a good personality, and a good temperament, and get along well together. I can intuitively understand what others are thinking and feeling. I am sensitive, so I can detect changes in other people’s emotions. My friends also often say that I am a good listener.

My secondary trigger is INNOVATION. I will embrace the opportunity for change and exploration. I think I’m pretty adaptable. I don’t panic when I go to a new place. My parents also said they didn’t worry about me coming to the U.S. to study and trusted me to handle the chores around me. I am curious, unconventional, and entrepreneurial. I will use my secondary innovation to persuade, influence, engage and inspire everyone I meet. The result shows that you can solve problems quickly with fresh solutions and you can generate surprising ideas with new perspectives. Therefore, I think I should try to develop my creative side and get more exposure to new things.

The result also shows my dormant advantage, which is POWER. The dormant advantage indicates I am not a dominant personality and dislike controlling others.

Did it feel true to me?

Yes, I feel the result is true to me, especially my dormant advantage. I especially don’t like to control people or order them around. I don’t want to be the bad cop. Avoid situations where I must publicly order my colleagues or clients around. Instead, I will find a way to succeed more subtly and engagingly. When I am forced to use the dormant edge, it drains my energy and focus. Since this is the least natural way for me to communicate, it takes a lot of energy to be able to connect with others in this way. It feels awkward and unnatural. It exhausts me. I want people to like me. I care a lot about how I look to others. With my friends, I am a good listener, which is similar to the primary trigger for me. At work, I usually listen with an open mind, taking care not to impose on others. I tend to let others make decisions and make it easy for others to lead, unlike POWER people, who try to occupy the top dog in the group. In past group assignments, I also try to avoid being the leader. I prefer to obey.

In terms of my primary trigger, PASSION, and My secondary trigger, INNOVATION, in some ways, it matches me, but there are some areas that I can’t say don’t match, maybe I haven’t realized them yet, or some strengths that I haven’t discovered yet. I have a little bit of low self-esteem, so I may focus more on what I lack and ignore what I am good at.

How to use this information?

According to the TED video, I’ve learned that because of changes in the way people access information, we need to grab a person’s attention in 9 seconds. This requires us to use those first 9 seconds when we introduce ourselves. I can use my primary trigger to attract widespread attention through expressive communication (e.g., colorful language and humor) and an engaging personal and professional interactive style. I can use PASSION to persuade, influence, engage and inspire everyone I meet, inspiring people to become advocates for the brand I am marketing. I can try to harmonize people’s 5 senses: taste, touch, smell, sound, and sight, to quickly establish a warm emotional connection. I can also use my secondary innovations to persuade, influence, engage and inspire everyone I meet. My dormant advantage has inspired me to find a reliable leader to set me on task and ask questions throughout my career. I needed such a person to inspire me to my potential and to push me to become a problem-solver.

Overall, the world sees me as a CATALYST. Catalysts usually shine in the spotlight, so personality-oriented careers are for me, such as PR, marketing, and customer service. This test was fun and importantly it was accurate. It was nice to take this quiz to get a better understanding of my strengths and weaknesses.

--

--