Guarding the Gates: Navigating the Challenges of Blocking Specific Social Media Features for Minors

Abdul Altabchi
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 29, 2024

Growing Up With Social Media:

I was born and raised in Columbus, Ohio. I remember my mother buying me my first phone at 13 years old. I quickly downloaded social media to catch up with my friends who already had phones. Social media provided, and still does, a place for me to meet new people and see what my friends are up to. At the time I could not imagine my life without social media. Honestly, even to this day, I could not imagine my life without it.

Ohio Law Limiting Social Media for Kids:

The law was supposed to take effect on January 15, 2024, but is now put on hold. It is going back to court. The law will limit social media platforms for kids aged 16 and below. Ohio is not the only state to propose laws like this. It is supposed to protect kids from inappropriate content and from data privacy concerns. Along with those two factors, it will also help with mental health issues. These social media platforms are pushing back though. They are saying that laws like this violate the First and Fourteenth Amendments. This is because these laws are “vague” and block “free speech.” Social media companies are proposing improved safety features on platforms along with rolling out new safety features instead of banning the platform for people 16 and under.

Opinion:

As a kid who grew up in Ohio and had social media at the age of 13, I think I turned out just fine. That being said, the growing threat of data privacy and inappropriate content is a lot more prominent now than when I was a little kid in Ohio. I keep thinking, do I want my little cousins to be on these platforms at such a young age? I think a law like this is not a bad thing, but I think they should lower the age for people to be able to be on these platforms. First, if this law ends up passing, kids can get their learner’s permit to drive, but won’t be able to scroll through TikTok. I don’t think this is fair at all. Driving is a lot more of a responsibility than scrolling through TikTok and watching cat videos. Second, social media has amazing factors to it. Connecting with friends and family, meeting new people, and the ability to speak your mind at any time. Some of these could be used inappropriately though. Such as meeting new people, or saying something you will regret later down the road. Instead of blocking these apps, I think there needs to be increased security or safety factors. Apps could install a “Are you sure you want to say this?” question before you post something. For people who are already on the fence about posting something that could be negative, a feature like this will deter them from hitting the post button a second time. There could also be an age verification factor to these apps, and people of a certain age won’t be allowed to message random people who are not of age. This could keep unwanted people from messaging children. Finally, I think a law like this should be adjusted rather than thrown out because I have little cousins who are 13 and 15. I don’t think cutting them off from these apps is good because kids tend to do the opposite of what they’re told. There are always ways around everything and kids will find it. We have to focus on making it safe for kids in that age range rather than just cutting them off from it.

Conclusion:

This law in the State of Ohio would block kids ages 16 and under from certain social media platforms. I personally do not think this is a bad idea, but it certainly needs to be adjusted. They should lower the age to be on social media because there are already a lot of responsibilities that kids take on, apps could improve on safety features, and kids will find a way to get on these apps regardless of the law. Making apps safe to use has to be the primary goal rather than banning people from these platforms.

--

--

Abdul Altabchi
Marketing in the Age of Digital

I am currently a graduate student at NYU studying Integrated Marketing. My blogs will be unique, fresh, and my unfiltered opinion about marketing.