How are you doing, I am not fine thanks

SHUYU LI
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJan 28, 2024

When is the last time you feel GOOD?

When someone (especially those whom you don’t want to spend too much time on) asks you “How are you doing today” the typical, most common answer is always “Good.”

Picture from Pinterest

Do you really feel good?

Every day is a new challenge. Feeling good, positive, and motivated is a new type of luxury in modern society. Health cannot be cured by a Birkin.

Research shows that Gen-Z has gradually become the target consumer purchasing wellness products than other generations. Compared with our parents, it seems like we are more willing to devote ourselves — don’t get me wrong, it is a tough time, and it is OK to be selfish at an appropriate level.

My favorite line in Sex and City tells the truth about modern people’s problems “In New York, you are always looking for a job, apartment or a boyfriend.”

Back in 2023, my life experienced a giant transformation both physically and mentally.

Picture from @thomaslelu

Part of the reason was I moved my life from China to New York.

This is a city built on ambitions and freedom.

Workaholics and weirdos co-exist in this place.

I came to New York with excitement and dreams, and now I am bingeing Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, crying with the question “What is life about.”

scrolling social media and comparing yourself with someone else/

unstopped self-reflection and shopping desire/

deadline and interviews filling every space on schedule/

Media completes my life. Before I realized diving into the digital world became a daily routine, my mental health started to warn me.

2024 is here, and the first thing is to make a New Year Resolution. This year, the top goal on my New Year’s resolution list is to feel good.

It doesn’t mean I will toss my phone away, but I am learning to have a healthy relationship with the digital world.

First, let’s start with an introduction:

WHO AM I

Summer of 2023

My name is Shuyu Li (李书语), but you are welcome to call me Stacey. I’m a Chinese girl who has been studying in the U.S. since high school. During my college years, I chose to study art history. It was an enlightening period in that I discovered my interest in creativity and the relationship between expression and communication. Sinking myself with masterpieces from ancient human creation, I found out that art can be used as a cure, healing emptiness deeply hidden in hearts.

However, art is not the ultimate cure. The path of communication is blocked by surviving from everyday life.

A few years later I decided to go back to school, as a master’s student exploring integrated marketing. Don’t be so surprised, Marketing and art are kind of alike: both fields are filled with ideas and concepts. If life is a stage, then we need scripts, actors and actresses, music, lighting, and the audience. In this case, art becomes a medium, and marketing is the stage — helping people find their unique concepts of life.

Who says life is not a course of art?

In the end, we are all artists of our own life.

ART & LIFE

My apartment window

It is hard to interpret the gap between art and business, but even a brilliant artist still needs a marketing partner: Vincent Van Gogh could not reach his place in history without help from his brother Theodorus.

Overall, human beings are social animals. We need to be heard no matter what.

Evolution may change the way messages transfer, but communication and creation will always work as a fundamental base for this universe.

How do we find a good position and how we can be heard by the world — -

Most importantly, who we are and what we want to do.

See, marketing begins its mission the moment we land on this earth.

I regard myself as an unfinished piece, and ready to be refined.

The next step is to find the target audience.

IT’S NICE TO MEET YOU, AND HOPE I CAN SEE YOU AGAIN

If you are interested in art, we will have a lot to chat about.

If you are interested in marketing, so am I.

If you are a consumer, let’s exchange our shopping lists.

If you are an artist of life, welcome.

If you just simply want to have a place to talk, you are always welcome.

In 2024, hope we all become the marketers of ourselves, creating masterpieces of our own.

Picture from Pinterest

--

--

SHUYU LI
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Guess what? you find me: a former art student, a life marketer