How Not To Launch A Brand

Mariana Pinedo
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJun 28, 2020
Source: Ignyte Brands

Introducing a new brand to the market is no easy feat. In a world where we are saturated with countless options, how does a new brand gain recognition and build its reputation? Susan Yara, also know as Mixed Makeup across multiple social media platforms, had an idea for a unique brand launch.

Yara is a popular beauty social media influencer on platforms including YouTube, Facebook and Instagram. She is know for all things beauty, but more specifically she is one of the most celebrated beauty gurus when it comes to skincare. Personally, I have trusted many of her tips and product recommendations in the past.

On June 21st, Yara posted a video announcing the launch of her own skincare line, Naturium. Exciting! Right? For a fan like me, you would think so….but let’s rewind. Naturium was actually introduced to the market in early 2020, but Susan Yara made the decision not to share that she was one of the co-founders behind the brand. She wanted the products to speak for themselves based on their quality and to avoid biased reviews from her fans upon the initial launch. Interesting strategy, isn’t it? Well, it could have been had she not promoted these products to her followers before announcing her connection to the brand. Yes, you read that correctly, Yara chose not to disclose the MASSIVE conflict of interest while endorsing her own brand multiple times, even providing discount codes and claiming the products are superior to other popular brands. Before her announcement on June 21st, she spoke about her own products as if she had stumbled upon a great new brand. When asked how she discovered the brand, Yara explained she was sent a “PR mailer,” a blatant lie. Not only is this deception, but an FTC violation.

On June 25th, Yara posted an apology video, as many of her fans were rightfully infuriated (myself included). Watch the video and comment below if you disagree, but I did not find her apology to be sincere and it sounded more like a defensive statement. Her tone was quite deflective and her message seemed more like “sorry that I upset you” rather than “sorry for my mistakes”. She also contradicted many statements from the original launch video, claiming she had not officially signed her formal contract with Naturium until June 12th (after any of her endorsements). However, the initial launch video implied that Yara was the one behind the brand and was involved throughout the product development process. Regardless, whatever her official connection was with the brand at the time of endorsement (whether it was co-founder, consultant, etc.), she should have disclosed it. The apology was very confusing and overall made me question her integrity even more. And her followers are vocally very disappointed. Some believe her intentions were malicious and she deliberately deceived her audience for profit. Others conclude she had good intentions and made innocent (but serious) mistakes. As for myself, I won’t assume what her intentions were in this situation, but there is one thing I know for sure; Susan Yara, a once credible influencer who’s recommendations I appreciated, has lost my trust.

In my eyes, the way the situation unfolded turned into self sabotage. I and many of her fans would likely have supported her brand had she been transparent from the beginning. In an attempt at a clever and unique brand launch, Yara instead tarnished the brands and her own reputation.

Are social media influencers trustworthy?

This entire situation is, for lack of a better term, a complete mess. But it poses a bigger question; are social media influencers trustworthy? Many frequently disclose sponsorships and advertisements, but in the case that one did not, how would we ever know? Susan Yara’s case is unique in that she eventually revealed her connection with the brand she endorsed. But it really makes me wonder, how many times was a product promoted to me without my knowledge? Moreover, even if influencers do disclose endorsements, how would we ever know if their thoughts on the products are truthful? After this situation with Yara unfolded, it really made me reflect on the concept of influencer marketing as a whole. I trust strangers product recommendations on the internet, and sometimes, I buy them. Do I enjoy some products? Yes. Do I dislike some products? Also yes. So technically, I could have the same result by researching and testing out products on my own.

I know I probably shouldn’t be surprised that someone on the internet that I have never even met has broken my trust. But somehow, it still makes me feel uncomfortable. I wont be unfollowing and unsubscribing to all influencers just yet. But more than ever, I will take their recommendations with a grain of salt.

--

--