How Salomon persuade its customer via e-mail marketing without showcasing the products.

Dante Jiang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJul 31, 2023

To be honest, I hardly subscribe to those email marketing advertisements, and I’d rather ignore them. This genuine reason is why the number of unread emails in my mailbox has surpassed 10,000 for years. Thus, signing up for the email marketing project offered by the brand Salomon for upcoming research wasn’t an easy determination for me. After hesitating for a second, I clicked the devil’s button on Salomon’s website, persuading myself that it is always beneficial to learn something new. (By “new,” I mean that email marketing is new to me, not to the world of digital marketing.) Let’s get started!

The registration page for newsletter of Salomon.com

The “Email sign-up” button was clearly placed in the upper right corner of Salomon’s official website. After clicking the button, the sign-up page popped up, and I had to fill out the basic information shown in the picture above. Personally, I am not a very enthusiastic fan of outdoor activities, so I chose three of the most iconic interests that Salomon provides related equipment for.

Confirmation email from Salomon for activating the newsletter subscription

Immediately, I received a “confirmation email” from Salomon, which asked me to confirm that I would be receiving marketing emails from them from now on. I love this part so much that I can feel Salomon is making an effort as a brand to create less burden for people who hate receiving digital subscriptions from a brand. Soon after I clicked the confirm button, I received an email titled “Welcome to the world of Salomon.”

The entire signing-up process took less than two minutes, and it was straightforward enough to avoid testing the limited patience of a random customer who may not be interested in sneakers or outdoor sports. Therefore, I straightforwardly praised the website design and decided that if I were to run a brand online, I would keep the signing-up process as easy as Salomon’s.

On the other hand, Salomon’s email marketing also started with a welcome letter. As a customer, I could easily receive the brand message conveyed by Salomon, which is to “go embrace exercise with Salomon,” through the pictures depicting people engaging in outdoor sports. Moreover, this welcome letter has very clear titles, and readers can grasp the theme without having to read the detailed descriptions below the pictures and subtitles. This combination of graphics and simplified wording helped me quickly understand what was going on around this brand. After all, who doesn’t appreciate a well-captured image with a bold title below it at a photographic exhibition?

Contents in welcome letter from Salomon

The next marketing email I received from Salomon was two days after I signed up for the subscription. It was a completely commercial email encouraging the recipient to make a purchase under the “45 free test” campaign. The campaign allowed customers to test how well the sneakers fit and offered free returns within a time range of 45 days. Similarly, in this email, Salomon applied its consistent art style by using a combination of photographs and simplified titles to catch customers’ attention and lead them to keep reading.

Overall, Salomon’s email marketing has made a strong visual impact on me. Despite being more interested in indoor activities, I was still drawn to their vibrant portrayal of outdoor exercises and their ability to appeal to outdoor enthusiasts through a simple and impressive art style.

However, after receiving three emails from Salomon, I still have no idea about the kinds of products this brand offers. This could be a mistake if Salomon is solely using its email marketing to illustrate and build up the brand concept. Some customers, like me, may have signed up for the newsletter with little knowledge about the brand itself. Therefore, relying solely on the brand message is insufficient. Perhaps this awkward circumstance is due to the limited time since I signed up for the newsletter, but I believe that the third email would be an excellent opportunity for introducing their products.

Anyway, I am looking forward to seeing the following emails and learning more about what Salomon has to offer!

--

--

Dante Jiang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
0 Followers

NYU SPS studen sharing thoughts about trending topics. #Gaming #Lifestyle #Travel #Fashion #Technology