How Sephora Expands Its Beauty Empire by Using Mobile Application?

Davina Zhuo
Marketing in the Age of Digital
5 min readMar 8, 2020

With the development of technology and internet, digital content has been increasingly important in the age of media. As a beauty lover, I always go to Sephora App on my phone and take a dive in thousands of skincare products. Sephora App has unraveled my love for trendy beauty products.

Sephora is a French multinational online and in-store skincare, beauty makeup and fragrance retailer. With Sephora mobile application, users can go online shopping, explore products and receive specific product recommendation.

Sephora App, Image from Lipstiq.com

User Experience

One significant opponent of Sephora App is customization. I downloaded Sephora App on my newly bought iPhone and it was IOS system friendly. When I logged in the app, there was an INSIDER area where I can see personalized products that are recommended for me. This is helpful for me to find some skincare products I am interested in. Based on my past buying behavior data, the app uses AI algorithm to tailor beauty recommendations and provides me with functional advice on purchase. To further customization, Sephora App provides users opportunity to reserve a real beauty advisor who can offer recommendations only based on personal data. I can have a custom makeover. The app knows me well and shows me what I want.

The second element that makes Sephora app easy to use is the navigation bar. Simple designed interface attracts people immediately. Listed categories adopt the design of few words and clear pictures, which help people read fast and respond quickly. Categories in the navigation bar help me find the exact one I am looking for. I can locate myself when I clicked in one category.

Checkout Page of Sephora Mobile Application

Design

As far as I am concerned, Sephora App has a good design. It is user friendly due to its interactive interface and content. The right number of signifiers direct users how to take action without overwhelming. Multiple colors are applied with the categories element, which are considered fresh and powerful.

However, I found that on “Home”page and “Stores” page, content is too full for me to concentrate. Too many words make me hard to read and feel bored. Although the content is useful for acknowledging service information, crowded black words make me want to quit reading. When it comes to the “Classes” information, the text sections below are too small to read. I usually just skip reading these small parts while scrolling down the page. To improve readability, I would recommend Sephora App use more white space. Proper use of white space can drive up people’s attention to the right elements quickly. Also, Sephora could eliminate unnecessary words and highlight key words instead.

Sephora Online Products

Innovation

Sephora also adds more innovation in latest version of mobile app. A section called “Color IQ & Beaty Traits” helps people like me who love beauty products gather together and communicate. It is an online beauty insider community where beauty lovers can find more inspiration on makeup or skincare from one another. Besides, Sephora combines fun and functional use into “quizzes” part. Through taking the quizzes, for example, I took the “BROW FINDER” to discover what I need to get my best brows, I can get the results of the most recommended products for my brows. Such feature is not only useful but also interesting.

Moreover, Sephora application employs augmented reality in “Virtual Artist” section. Users can directly see what is the look of applying certain products through uploading a photo of oneself. I can “put on” different lipsticks and eye shadow on my face (using my own photo) without going to the physical Sephora store. In this way, I can try on so many products online before I decide which one to buy, which save me a lot of efforts and give me a lot of fun at the same time.

Virtual Artist Page of Sephora Mobile Application

Customer Loyalty

I believe most people download the Sephora App because they at least shop once in the Sephora store. The Sephora App is believed to provide customers with the exact same products and services as it does in physical stores. The user interface is sufficient and engaging. I know where I can go for help in the app and I know what I can get after purchase. In-app notification and push-up notifications through emails always remind me to check my Sephora cart and see whether there is a sale going on.

More importantly, one big reason I downloaded Sephora App is that I can check how many points I’ve got. I can shop in Sephora with a “VIB” or “Rouge” discount as my points accumulate. The more points I get, the bigger discounts I can enjoy at certain sale days. Sephora application gives me trust and incentive to shop in-app. The “Insider Beauty Program” launched in 2019 is also a free rewards program that lets you earn points on all your merchandise purchases and redeem those points for rewards. Sephora has captured the hearts of millions of beauty shoppers through upgrading the Sephora mobile application. It definitely worths the space on your mobile phone.

Push-up Notification from Sephora App

--

--

Davina Zhuo
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Student, Marketing & Finance major, Learning Tools of Marketing, Digital Marketing, Stats of Marketing.