How the world sees you!

Siripong Netpraphit
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 13, 2022

Get to know yourself better in order to excel in your career more

I had a chance to take the Fascinate Test a couple of days ago. Before taking the test, I thought it would be similar to the MBTI test to see my personality type, but this is a bit different. While most personality assessments will tell you how you see the world, this test will tell how the world sees you. By just answering 28 questions, the test will evaluate based on the results of a million participants, and reveal what archetype we are among the 49 personality archetypes, which is interesting.

My archetype is the Mediator. It is the combination of my primary advantage, Alert, and my secondary advantage, Trust. It is said that the advantage of this archetype is the ability to work with many types of people, building harmony among teams. As the Mediator, you are a practical and organized thinker, which means that you keep things safe for your team. You carefully consider your words and actions. You apply the alert advantage to protect the plan, to make everyone around you feel secure.

Getting ‘Alert’ as the primary advantage means you are aware of all the little details of the situation and try to avoid any unwelcome surprises. You are dedicated to work and expect high-quality results from yourself and your team. While the secondary advantage is Trust, it means you think and speak in a way that builds consistency and reliability. You like to be punctual, stick to routine, keep things on track, and get things done because trust is the language of stability.

Here are three adjectives describing how the world sees the Mediator:

Steadfast: Mediators are diligent, faithful, and dependable. They are highly committed to reaching agreed objectives and deadlines. They want to protect the status quo to ensure that things do not change.

Composed: They keep their cool even in a pressure-filled situation. They set the tone for others, which is how they sustain their team.

Structured: They would like to stick with a proven situation instead of something radically untested.

After reading all of the fascination advantage report of my archetype, I would say it is pretty accurate to me because I also see myself as an organized person. Although I might not write all my plans down, I always have them in my head. I always realize that I can get things done on time, even if I need to pull an all-nighter to finish the tasks or pursue the goals. I am pretty self-conscious of what I will say or do before taking action since I care about the feeling of others which I think is similar to the advantage of the mediators that they can deal with many types of people.

According to the MBTI test, which I was identified to be a defender (ISFJ), some characteristics are similar to the Mediator. As a defender, it is said that we are observant, reliable, and practical. In addition, we are good at remembering details. We prefer concrete information rather than abstract theories, which I think is quite the same as the Mediator, which is detail-oriented.

When we deeper understand our personality or our advantages, it helps us know more about which careers we could fit in the most. As the Mediator, we can excel in keeping things on track; however, things sometimes do not go as planned. Therefore, we can prepare and adapt our plan to deal with problems or improve results more effectively. Moreover, we can use the information to form team members with a diversity of advantages to become more engaged and productive.

--

--

Siripong Netpraphit
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Grad student at NYU | M.S. Integrated Marketing | An aspiring digital marketer seeking inspiration through technology, movies, and photography.