“How the world sees you” — The Famous Fascinate Test

Mengning Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 27, 2021

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”

-Eleanor Roosevelt

In this week’s blog, I am going to introduce a very interesting topic called “The Fascinate Test”. I don’t know if you have ever heard about this test but to me, it’s new.

My Test Result

Reaction to the Fascinate Test

I first created an account and spent 10 minutes playing around with it. Then I spent another 15 minutes taking the test. The first couple of minutes I thought this was just like some other tests I’ve taken — — all were trying to make an analysis of what kind of person you were or what career path suited you that could lead you to success.

Most of the time, these tests didn’t tell you why and how the results come out.

However, the fascinate test is different. The perspective of the questions is unique and targeting at a specific angle. For some questions, I have to stop and think for a second. It forces me to make a self-reflection and really think about what kind of person I am. Should I be a leader or follower? What type of work or roles can stimulate my greatest potential?

The fascinate test also tells me how I am perceived by the world and how other people see me. Isn’t it interesting that when we all care about how others see us today and a simple test can tell us the answer? It determines our own personality archetypes, figures out how to best use our strengths (and minimize our weaknesses).

I totally agree with Nick Morgan, who is a communication blogger, who says “the test can create an anthem that tells the world who you are, like an elevator pitch only better, and then compare what they’ve found to the vast database that she and her team have built based on their research into personality, drive, and attention.”

What is my archetype?

I am the AVANTGARDE type, which is the area in between prestige and innovation. It says that I am a forward-thinker and enterprising leader. My creativity makes me an excellent contributor to brainstorming sessions.

Beyond that, I am able to generate a lot of ideas, also have the ability to choose the right ideas and implement them with attention to detail. I like to experiment with new ideas and have a gift for looking ahead, and for predicting how things are going to develop.

The highest and best value of the AVANT-GARDE are:
My mind works quickly to develop unconventional solutions. I am a prolific idea generator that brings fresh interpretations of the same old thing. I always tweak the game and like to change the rules. Moreover, I can bring new ideas and execute them to a high standard.

The not best values of the AVANT-GARDE are:
If forced by others to follow the same routine over and over again, I’ll become bored and demoralized. I enjoy experimenting and reinterpret the status quo. I should avoid doing monotonous work. Others get the most out of me if I can tweak procedures, reinvent the rules, and create new business models.

What are my primary and secondary triggers?

My primary advantage is prestige. First, as I recognize that my ability to fascinate others is through the natural use of the prestige advantage. As a prestigious personality, I respect excellence. I am results-oriented and determined. Also, I like to set ambitious goals and exceed expectations. I am assertive and often encourage others to achieve more for greater success.

My secondary advantage is innovation. By being innovative, I tend to be curious, unconventional, and entrepreneurial. I embrace opportunities for change and exploration and should apply this quality to persuade, influence, attract and inspire everyone that I encounter.

True or Not?

I have to say, this is just as true as if the test maker lives in my mind. Everything it says on the test is a part of my personality and characteristic. I am very ambitious especially when it comes to the career field. I constantly seek out opportunities to show my ability and also flexible to adapt to changes. I hate tedious work, and that’s the reason why I choose to work in the marketing field. I believe a successful marketer always needs to have new insights, future predictions, and macro-level and integrated marketing senses.

How can I use this test result?

After taking the test, I certainly know that I should keep pushing myself along the career path and I do have the ability to become an insightful leader. Meanwhile, brainstorming for new ideas is where I can gain the most respect and inspire my co-workers and teammates.

--

--