How To Be The Next Billie Eilish… Kind Of

Kasey Wagner
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readSep 27, 2021

Billie Eilish has become a force to be reckoned with in the music industry at such a young age. Not only are her vocals phenomenal, but her personal brand as a creative has also made her stand out from other artists. I admire her fearless nature when it comes to her style and creating what’s true to herself without conforming to societal norms.

Credit: Adobe Communications Team

Adobe x Billie Eilish

After coming across her tweet showcasing her partnership with Adobe, I couldn’t help but watch the clip associated with it knowing Adobe is a brand I’ve relied on during my creative journey as well. Upon further research, I learned she created her self-directed music video ‘Happier Than Ever’ using Adobe Creative Cloud. So does this mean with enough practice using Adobe Creative Cloud…. I could be the next Billie Eilish? That’s certainly a stretch considering I only sing in the shower, but this piece of content did inspire me to create what’s true to me. Check it out below.

The second I see a post I can relate to on social media, I instinctively want to retweet it, share it to my Instagram story, share it with my family on Facebook, or take the link and text it to those who choose to live their life off the grid. While Billie Eilish is ultimately what got me to stop and watch the clip as I was scrolling through my Twitter feed (which Adobe would hope for with the amount of money they probably invested in the celebrity partnership), what really engaged me was the opening line of the ad-

For me, creativity starts with: What If’s

She then goes on to brainstorm ideas for her music video starting every sentence with “What If”. Throughout the piece of content it seemed as though she was on the computer screen and inside the programs as each of her ideas were being edited. As she went back and forth with some concepts, she finally created her look for the video and setting which was in the rain. The clip ends with Billie stating, “Now, create what’s true to you.”

Billie editing her “look” for the video

The Power of Story Telling

The story of Billie’s creative process perfectly executed getting Adobe’s message across without being so blunt. While I first hand know how complicated it could be (at least for someone without a strong graphic design background) to get the perfect color shade, create layer after layer, and make seamless transitions between clips and effects, the ad wasn’t trying to convince you that you need to be an expert to make something meaningful with Creative Cloud. It also surely was not trying to tell you that being an expert in every Creative Cloud program will turn you into the next Billie Eilish. Instead, while Billie was telling the story of her creative process, the message was clear and fitting with Adobe’s brand that the opportunity to create something from your many ideas is there waiting for you with their many tools to help you.

As someone who sometimes needs a boost of motivation when I feel like I’ve hit a creative block, this is something I found shareable (not only because I love this song), but because it applies to everyone who wants to express themselves and create things true to themselves. It could be a small business, someone with an Etsy shop, a graphic designer, or influencer- everyone is creative in their own way and Adobe is encouraging them to work through that thought process that leads to amazing content. If Billie’s story wasn’t the driving force behind getting that message across, I’m not sure if I would have shared it considering not everyone but graphic designers could relate to it. It targets the emotions making it shareable content to me.

After taking a look at the video, do you feel inspired to create something true to you? Are you an Adobe Creative Cloud user yourself? I’d love to hear more about how you unleash your creativity and inner Billie Eilish!

--

--

Kasey Wagner
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Digital Marketing • Insights Enthusiast • Food Blogger • Content Creator • Grad Student at NYU — Integrated Marketing