How to fascinate the world, how the world sees you

Kexin Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readSep 29, 2019

I still remember, I was really addicted to these kind of personality tests when I was young, because I was too young to define myself at that time. Whenever the test results come out, I will feel very surprised, every time the results of the reaction are no more than: oh my god, I am such this kind of person! However, as I got older, I found I feel less interested in these peculiar personality tests than I was as a child. Maybe part of the reason was that I started trying to understand who I really was, and so the results became less surprising, as I gradually learned who I really was. I’m not saying that these personality tests don’t attract me as they used to be. But the older I get, the more I know who I am.

However, things are not as simple as I seem to think. When I realized that this is a test that test how the world sees you. I began to wonder; do I see myself in the same way that outside world sees me? According to the test, the three adjectives that it was given to me are agreeable, dependable and accessible, which are didn’t surprised me very much. Because friends often describe me as a dependable and trustworthy person. But I still have some small surprises that trust has such an important place in my character. Due to the fact that trust is my primary advantage to communicate with outside world, which means when I communicate with people in this way, I am my most fascinating an influential. My second primary advantage in fascinating test is passion. This really surprised me, as I consider myself is a calm and even a little unenthusiastic person. It never occurred to me that passion would become an advantage for me to communicate with the world. But if this is true, I am willing to tap the potential of my inner passion to communicate with the world and let the world see a better version of myself.

If someone asks me does this test make you feel ture? I would like to say yes, this test not only let me know the part of myself that I know, but more importantly, it let me know the part of myself that I don’t know. It is not a simple test for entertainment purposes, but a test to let you know yourself in a professional field so that you can better plan your career in the future as a marketer.

I think fascination is very important for marketers. It’s not a simple charisma thing that having it can make people more attractive. What’s more, for marketers, in my opinion, it is a basic professional quality. If the essence of market is the communication between customers and products. Then A marketer without fascination cannot persuade customers to communicate with his products at all. Therefore, fascination is not an advantage for marketers, but a necessary skill for marketer for their future career.

--

--