How to Make Ourselves Fascinating?

Yanying Mao
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readSep 29, 2019

Many of us should have thought about whether we have enough charm to attract the attention of others. Maybe at the time of a new relationship, maybe at the time of an interview, maybe at the time of a friends’ party, maybe at the time of a company speech.

Sometimes we need to change the perspective of looking at things. From the perspective of how the world sees you, we can better understand ourselves.

HOW THE WORLD SEES YOU

By taking The Fascinate Test created by Sally Hogshead. It is a test based on 28 simple questions. In the test result report, I see myself is an INTRIGUE. An INTRIGUE archetype is described as PERCEPTIVE, NUANCED and SELECTIVE in this test.

My primary fascination advantage is PASSION: attract with emotion. My secondary advantage is MYSTIQUE: arouse curiosity. As a combination of these two advantages, I could find my most effective mode of communication.

Opposite of my primary and secondary advantage, my dormant advantage is INNOVATION, which is the one that holds the least potential for me in fascinating others; it’s how I will least likely to influence and impress others.

DOES THE WOLRD SEE THE SAME AS ME

I was a little surprised by the result of this test. The INTRIGUE, this word does not seem like a good description of my personality based on my understanding of myself. Like many of us have done some kind of personality test during our childhood, the results are usually very similar. However, this test gives me a different result. I feel my personality has the passion and mystique parts because this is the way I usually react to things and people around me. I like to keep an open mind to things and love to be passionate. Based on that, it was in line with my expectations. However, on the other hand, I don’t feel like INNOVATION is my dormant advantage.

Art and design were my habits of life and I have taken many art courses during the undergrad. Creation and innovation was an easy thing for me, that my ideas often get praise from others. This is my understanding of myself, but perhaps I don’t see myself very comprehensively in all aspects as time goes by and more things I experienced.

FASCINATION AS A MARKETER

As my way of learning to become a marketer, it is important to attract attention among many and many competitions. Why do people pick you and not others? Why we become fascinated with some ideas and not others? The length of attention spans become shorter and shorter nowadays, no matter how brilliant the idea is, the primary task becomes to get people to know your ideas! Understand and use your intrinsic fascination helps to find your best advantage and use the triggers to capture attention and impress others.

--

--

Yanying Mao
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Currently live in NYC | Graduate student of NYU | Integrated Marketing | All the good things are running towards you🌟