How To Write Your First Blog Post

Anna Zhao
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readMay 30, 2021

How to write your first blog?

Did you think my blog was going to be about teaching you how to write your first blog? WRONG! Instead, I may need help to write blogs. As I was brainstorming back and forth about what should my title be for this blog, I couldn’t help but did some research. I am sure you are not surprised, most marketers do it!

To be honest, this is a question I’ve always asked myself. Will you ever start a blog? (Xanga didn’t count) Many times in the past I was 1 click away from making my own blog, I didn’t. I’ve made lots of effort on social media channels such as Instagram, but I just couldn’t take that first step on blogging. Why? Because I am not confident in writing long content. But here I am, doing this for my digital marketing class! It was meant to be.

When I was doing research, all the blog experts mentioned steps to accomplish your first blog and most of them mentioned to must introduce who you are and why you are doing this.

“My Father-in-law Interview Answers”

My name is Anna, I am located in San Francisco. I majored in liberal studies for my BA, which had nothing to do with marketing! My favorite food is fried chicken, hotpot, or anything spicy. My favorite dessert is cookies and cream-flavored ice cream. I do yoga sometimes when I need peace of mind while listening to music and my favorite movie is The Notebook!

Did I mention I love dogs?! I am so grateful to have 2 of the best and cutest companions at home with me during this pandemic. It definitely made it much better. I am currently remote studying and remote working from SF home and plan to come to NYU campus this Fall semester! New Yorkers, please share food advice with me! My mom is my favorite person in the world even though we have this love and hate relationship. And below is a photo of my world!

The above introduction is based on a “My Father-in-law Interview Questions” format our Data Management professor made us do. So next, I decided to switch off with some fun things I do in life! At least I love it.

What else you should know about me?

I started working while I was a senior in high school. A Boba shop called Quickly’s! I think most of us teenagers wanted to work at a boba shop, or dessert shop, or something similar while in high school. The summer before my college, I had the chance to be introduced to the Audio Amplifier industry. My mom was a technician at this Audio Amplifier company and they were working on improving the sound of OPPO DVD Players. Her job was to fix or upgrade a special amp board to improve the sound of the DVD player. That amp board was designed by this company I started to part-time at as office admin. Because it was a small company, I had the chance to be very hands-on! While working there, I learn operations, customer service, sales, marketing, e-Commerce, and digital marketing! I get to travel to many places such as Consumer Electronics Expo in Las Vegas every year. Visiting Best Buy headquarter in Minneapolis!

Time flies, I’ve been in the consumer electronics industry for 14 years, which leads me to where I am now. Working as the head of social media marketing at a smart home product company, Nooie whose parent company is in Shenzhen, China. They specialize in all smart home products. But for Nooie, we want to specialize in warm technology to bring products that are warm and loving to our customers. Growing up in Silicon Valley sure is something fun, I get to be around all these fun technologies, AI, products, expos, and BIG NAMES! As you may already know, Apple, Facebook, Google, Tesla, Microsoft, Zoom, ok I will stop. You get the point! Before the pandemic happened, my goal was to have a side business while working in the marketing field but when the pandemic started, my family and side business was seriously impacted by it and made me realize, it is time to approach higher education. To help me make it to the next level. The past 16 months made me becoming more interested and hungry in wanting to learn more about this industry, wanting to help others, wanting to create meaningful products, campaigns, and stories. I want to meet people who are just like me. I want to meet resourceful and insightful mentors who can help me achieve that goal. I want to use the “magic of marketing” to make a difference! So here I am, pursuing this degree 10 years later.

“All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.” — Walt Disney.

What’s going to happen next?

Whoa, I didn’t think I had this much to share before I started this blog. I am surprised to say I am enjoying it! This blog is for my Digital Marketing class, but I will do my best to write and continue to write even after finishing this class to overcome my fear in writing and to share my experience with others, and hopefully, it will make someone’s day! There’s this method that says it takes about 21 days to form a new habit, so I guess I will just need to keep this up for 21 days! Start small is better than not starting at all.

Please send your comments and feedbacks to me so it can help me improve and write more interesting content to build my portfolio! I would also like to learn about your goals and dreams! Can’t wait to build another awesome journey with this class!

--

--

Anna Zhao
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Creative Marketer, MS’ 22 Integrated Marketing student & Grad Student Council - Social Media Chair @ NYU SPS. I love pets, travel, food, and wine!