I don’t believe personality test, but I change my mind now…

mata chan 馬它
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readMar 6, 2023

To be honest, I am so surprised with the result of the Fascinate Test. It really matches my personality and the thoughts I got from my friends and colleagues.

Today let me bring up some personal stories to shoe how correct this report is!

Here is my result of the Fascinate Test…

1. My archetype is “The Quick-Start”

2. The Primary trigger is “Innovation”

3. The Secondary trigger is “Alert”

Primary trigger: Innovation

According to the report, the descriptors of the Innovation are…

- Embrace opportunities for change and exploration.

- Driven by profound sense of adventure and creativity.

Here are my corresponding experiences…

First, my college major was biomedical engineering, however, I decided to learned video editing by myself and dived into social media and marketing industry. After 3 years’ experience, I work as marketing freelancer for an international tech company now.

Every time when I shared this story with people I met, they always said I am a real adventurer who dare to try and pursue anything I want.

5 years ago, I still interned in hospital

Second, I am obsessed with content creation. My job is designing campaign for products, and my hobby is making video and sharing daily life on YouTube. Both need creativity, and I am glad to see people give me applause when watching my works.

I work in this company called PicCollage, which really focus on creativity of products

Secondary trigger: Alert

According to the report, the descriptors of the Alert are…

- Able to create swift action.

- Work to avoid unwelcome surprises.

This part 100% reflect the other side of my personality! Although I view myself as a creative person, I also a serious scheduler.

I have a firm schedule for my YouTube channel, a notebook including my plan for each month, and even weekly calendar on my Notion. I like to ensure everything happening on my timeline. Based on my experience, this is the best way for me to attach goals.

My weekly schedule on Notion

Besides, I like to do multi-tasking, especially moving to New York. NYU student, marketing freelance, YouTuber, and this year I also start my student consultant job in NYU Stern Business School. You need to work and try hard to live in this crazy city, right? Therefore, I hate emergency during work time (even it still happens every time…)

But yes, I avoid any unwelcome surprises.

My dormant advantage: Mystique

How this report surprises me not limit to there, even for dormant advantage is so correct!

You can tell I am not a mysterious person because I almost share 80% of my daily life and feeling on social media. My friends in Taiwan say even we haven’t met for half year, they still understand my life details through my Instagram haha.

Use this picture to visual my personality!

Now when I have a work interview or even interview other people, we more and more emphasize on personality but not only academic background or what kind of skill you have. Teamwork is crucial now!

I think I can put this picture on my portfolio intro page to visualize what kind of person I am, and also add some explanations to make it more convincing!

Overall, I will say I am so impressive with this kind of test. I seldom did it before because there are amounts of “personality test” on the Internet now (it too many!) But it really changes my prospective.

So, recommend to try it!

--

--

mata chan 馬它
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A biomedical engineering student and now a product marketing freelance and content creator in New York. Love and share any marketing experience here!