I just took a personality test, turns out I’m 100% “The Secret Weapon”…

Marcia Stewart
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJun 21, 2020

If you read the title to the beat of Lizzo’s “Truth Hurts,” you get extra points. Anywho, I can’t say that I’m shocked; The results are very on brand.

The Secret Weapon Explained

The Secret Weapon is described as nimble, unassuming, and independent. According to Sally Hogshead, creator of the Fascination Advantage Assessment, Secret Weapons “tend to shield themselves from vulnerabilities. And, they are known to be social chameleons who can adapt to their surroundings.”

As The Secret Weapon, my primary advantage is mystique. Hogshead suggests this means that I “rarely show my inner emotions. I remain calm, even in situations of pressure. And, I work independently without disclosing my process.”

My secondary advantage is innovation. Hogshead describes this as “being able to develop a whole range of solutions for problems. My ideas get attention. And, I excel in situations where I can think through a range of alternatives.”

How is this assessment/information useful?

I think it’s important to understand the ways in which you fascinate others. If you read my first post, then you know that I’m on a quest to build my brand. Previous to taking this assessment, I was already trying to showcase my innovative side. However, I was also trying to figure out ways to be more open/transparent (because I’ve always read about the importance of transparency).

After taking the assessment, I realize that I need to rethink my approach to building my brand. Instead of oversharing, it might be ok for me to maintain a bit of mystique. Apparently (and ironically), I come across more confident, authentic, and influential when I do so.

How can this be applied to marketing?

As a professor (👋🏾 Prof. Tombrakos) once pointed out, it’s important to note that we’ve all become marketers in our own right. And, It doesn’t matter if you use social media for entertainment purposes only, or if you’re a marketer in the traditional sense. Anything that we post/share for the world to consume is our own unique content that adds to our brand. And we don’t post content in vain. We want engagement in exchange for our content. And we want it in the form of likes or comments. We also want to retain the followers we have, and (if it’s not too much to ask) attain a few thousand new followers. But none of this can be maintained without having a keen understanding of how the world sees us. So again, it’s important to understand the ways in which we fascinate others.

P.S Sally Hogshead’s Fascination Advantage Assessment is a good first step to learn how the world sees you and ways in which you fascinate others

P.P.S You can only access the assessment by invite only. I can’t share my secrets on how I was able to access the test. I hate to be that person, but I have to maintain the mystique. Anywho, if you can figure out a way to take the assessment, I encourage you all to do so.

--

--

Marcia Stewart
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Graduate Student — Majoring in Integrated Marketing, with a Concentration in Digital Marketing