I WILL ALWAYS BE ME — LIFE IS TOO PRECIOUS

Supraja Raghu
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 27, 2022

Thinking ahead

There is always a point in time where we wonder what we leave behind in this world. It’s important to us to find out whether we will be remembered, whether we made a difference and whether our voice was heard.

I have heard the phrase “life is too precious, use every minute to be happy” multiple times. As much as I want to say I do, I think we all get caught up in the drama of life and forget the days that pass by. That’s okay because there is always the next day, right?

But what if our voice gets cut from us sooner than we expect? Or maybe for our loved ones? As we get older, we need to think ahead. There are far too many ways to face set backs in life. Nobody wishes the worst, it just happens to you.

ALS is one such disease that occurs usually between the ages of 40–70. Sometimes for 20-year-olds as well. It is of 4 major types with unpredictable causes. The most common symptom is loss of speech.

VMLY&R for Dell and Intel came up with an ‘I will always be me’ campaign. As a Dell user for many years and as a loving granddaughter to my grandparents, I was so emotionally invested in this video and am excited to share with you this campaign.

I will always be me — Dell and Intel

The biggest challenge that individuals diagnosed with the disease face is loss of speech. They start thinking about ‘banking their voice’. Though there were initially other ways to deal with this before, it was far too complicated and tedious with no assurance of sounding like yourself. In times of despair, Dell and Intel decided to provide support.

The campaign is powerful, impactful, compelling and meaningful. I was hooked right from the beginning, I forgot that I was watching an advertisement, it felt like something more. It focuses on personal experiences of the individuals diagnosed with the disease and the sudden loss of direction in life for them and their loved ones.

I loved the personal touch. The advertisement’s characters are not nameless, it is not scripted, it isn’t product focused. It is about them. Individuals suffering from ALS, it is their story, their voice. This campaign has become an example of how technology can stoke positive reactions and be a force for good.

What even is the product? How does it help?

“The book” helps capture different syllabus as the reader records. All one ever has to do is invest 20 minutes. The best part? The loved ones can be with you for the process. It is, I quote “Deeply powerful not just for the reader but the person listening to it.”

The agency has also made a website that has more informative resources on how to get aid, how the software works and much more.

Just like that, Dell and Intel brought back life. It is no longer sad, it is hopeful.

Being remembered

At the end of the day, it isn’t just about ALS, on a broader note, who wouldn’t like to leave their mark behind? I think anyone can make use of this and feel a connection.

Personally, I lost my Avva (grandmom) on February 13th 2018. I would give anything to hear her voice her today.

I dedicate this blog to anybody suffering from ALS or simply wish for their loved ones to be remembered. May their voice be heard and warm your hearts even when they aren’t around.

Life is short but there is also hope. Let’s do good and do better every day. Find ways for sadness to be joy. Remember to be happy while always being you.

Until next time…

Signing off,

Supraja

--

--

Supraja Raghu
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Ms. Integrated Marketing student at NYU. A thriving entrepreneur who loves travel, food, music, nature, a TV show fanatic who is exploring the field- Marketing.