If you want to market well, you should know yourself, right?

Steven Branda
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJun 2, 2020

Hello everyone and welcome to the first of many blog posts. Each post I will dig into marketing topics and discuss current trends, successes and failures within marketing.

But first an introduction…

My name is Steven Branda. I am a photographer, explorer, comedy enthusiast and I watch way too many films and TV shows. I love to learn about society and do so by following current trends and hitting the streets with my camera to capture real life moments. I approach marketing the same way as I do photography. I learn by looking, observing and trying to approach subjects from a different perspective, to capture or communicate a new angle and generate interest. A few years ago I became obsessed with getting the “best” image. But what is the best? A breathtaking sunset? A perfectly-timed image? What I have learned is that you can’t capture the best and people will always perceive images differently or they will generate a different feeling. This sparked my interest in gaining a better understanding of photography. People react to specific colors, shapes and geometry in images, and as a result images can produce emotion. Through trial and error I began to focus on images that would portray emotion and retain viewers. By recognizing how my audience was responding, I learned to change my perspective. This is the same approach that marketers use to develop and promote their product, brand or service. Listen to your customers, be human, tell a story and create something that appeals to your audience.

I was born in New York and lived in the typical quiet suburban town. You create your own bubble here by staying with the same friends and visiting the local mall or parks for entertainment. It wasn’t until I moved to Brooklyn, which isn’t too far from my hometown, that I was able to experience a whole new perspective on life. My suburban bubble burst and I found myself in a society where everything changes as the city lives and breathes with current world affairs. They say this city can make or break you. It has definitely done both to me and I couldn’t be happier to have experienced it.

I enrolled in New York University’s Integrated Marketing graduate program with a focus on brand management. I love to learn, especially from those who have a different perspective on things.

If I have caught your interest with my first post, stay tuned for more blog posts about marketing and continue the journey with me to think about and see things differently.

©Steven Branda Photography

--

--

Steven Branda
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Student & Employee | Photographer | Learner | Graduate in Integrated Marketing program