Indie Lee' Awakening

Chunyu Chen
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 10, 2021

Before our topic was chosen as the cosmetic industry, I have never spent my time selecting skincare products and their brands. Personally, I rarely use any facial products except for daily cleaning because there are too many brands and products which I could not tell the difference and I do not have the behavior to use them daily. After we decided our topic and specific brand, some big words popped up from my mind like safety, nature, effectiveness.

Indie Lee uses the finest ingredients from nature and marries them with technology for skincare products. The brand forces on high-performance without sacrificing safety. It utilizes toxic free, effective, clean and sustainable ingredients and the inspiration is from her own experience. Indie Lee was diagnosed with a life-threatening tumor that doctors felt could be environmentally derived and attributed to something as simple as what she was putting on her skin. This was her awakening.

The value of Indie Lee shows that the brand is stranded on the customer’s perspective to innovate and develop. First of all I want to share my experience on the official desktop website. Overall my UX is satisfied. The style is simple and the background color is white which pairs with the products and their personality. On the very first page is a shifted promotion bar and best-selling list. Then if you keep browsing the following page, a short video clip appears with the title”Meet Indie Lee” and this makes the simple, clean page active and vivid. I really like that they do not put the entire “About us” here because that would be tedious and boring.

I am not sure it is because of my lack of skincare products experience. They do have a bottom to expand the menu on the left of the page, but the filter and categories are just too much for me. But they really pay attention to the detail, each category has their own symbols and colors.

The experience from mobile websites is more convenient for customers who have questions and want to reach out. There is a chat icon on the left where you can ask questions or find your order.

On the right there is a human icon which is called accessibility adjustments where you can DIY all the adjustments here to create a better browsing experience. Since there are also too many choices, I am not sure it is worth the time.

--

--