Is Love Island USA Taking Over Tik Tok?

Ariel Roldan
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJul 15, 2024

Has anyone else been watching Love Island USA every night on Peacock since the beginning of the summer?

Well, I certainly have! I’ve been a loyal Love Island fan for years. One of my best friends and I would grab snacks and sit on front of the TV every night at 9PM all summer. We’d look forward to it every year. This year, however, the show has reached a new level of popularity.

#LoveIsland and #LoveIslandUSA are both in the top 5 trending Tik Tok hashtag list. In this article from Deadline, it was announced that Love Island USA is now the most streamed reality show in the United States. In addition, streaming for this season has doubled compared to the previous seasons. I have friends that have never watched the show before start watching this season because of all the hype.

My entire Tik Tok feed is filled with videos about the show. Creators are making countless videos about their opinions on each character and their decisions. Here is an example of a creator making a video about their opinion on an episode.

People have grown a strong attachment to this cast, especially since the show is betwen 60 and 90 minutes every night. The Love Island USA Tik Tok account also frequently posts clips from the show and behind the scenes from the cast allowing fans to see even more content. In addition to videos about creators’ opinions, there are many videos of creators doing a voice over to an audio clip from their favorite character on the show or creating edits of their favorite characters, like this one of my favorite characters this season.

My favorite part of the night has become watching Tik Tok creators tell me their opinion on every new episode because I want to see if I agree or not. I love to read through the comments and see how similar or different my opinions are to theirs.

Makeup by Mario, a very well known make up brand, has decided to remake one of these infamous Love Island audio clips. In a behind the scenes video from the Love Island Tik Tok page, the cast members sing a song about the type of partner they are looking for, listing characteristics of their ideal partner. This is a link to the original Love Island video.

Makeup by Mario recreated this song to announce their new cream blushes. They changed the lyrics to say, “I’m looking for a blush that’s blendy, creamy, dreamy”. I thought this was so creative and my immediate thought was, “Wow, Love Island has gotten so popular that social media marketers are going to start to integrate this into their content”. This is Makeup by Mario’s version!

I think this video was definitely trying to send a message about how perfect these new blushes are — similar to how Love Island cast members were singing about their perfect partner.

It’s definitely a reminder of the importance of keeping up with viral trends, hashtags and audios on social medias so you can take advantage of their popularity when marketing your brand. It’s only been a day and this post already has 70,000 likes and love island fans flooding the comment section. This trend is especially relevant to this brand because both Makeup by Mario and Love Island USA have similar target audiences — adults between the ages of 18 and 49.

As a consumer who is looking for a new cream blush and loves Love Island USA, this video immediately peaked my interest and made me eager to learn more. I would definitely share this content with my friends. They would be so excited and entertained as fellow love Island fans and potentially purchase the product since they are also fans of makeup!

Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

--

--

Ariel Roldan
Marketing in the Age of Digital
0 Followers

Hi! My name is Ariel and I'm a passionate marketing student looking forward to learning more about digital marketing