Is staying in touch the same as being in touch? — Estee Lauder

Jiazheng Geng
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJun 27, 2021

The skin care beauty brand that I can think of for the first time is Estee Lauder. I have to say that it is a successful brand in the industry. Even though beauty and skin care are not in my focus, it makes everyone aware of it with its outstanding products. I will also evaluate its website UX on desktop and mobile devices.

About Estee Lauder

Estee Lauder is one of the world’s largest skin care, cosmetics and perfume companies, with the same name as its founder. Estee Lauder is famous for its anti-aging and repairing skin care products. The Estée Lauder Companies is the world’s leading large manufacturer and marketer.

Website UX

The websites I see on desktop and mobile devices are almost the same. Therefore, I will mainly share my user experience of Estee Lauder through the desktop website.

I think its website is very effective. I can quickly find the products I want through classification. Most of the homepage is occupied by discounts and star products. As a website whose purpose is to sell products, I think it is already very good. However, it lacks aesthetics in my opinion. Just like I will go shopping on the website with purpose, I can find my products clearly and quickly, but I will not look for some possible products on the website aimlessly. I saw too much information at the first time, and I would not have the patience to read it. And it just made a simple layout of different activities or products, I did not see any style design. But what I noticed is that you can communicate with experts online and book free expert one-to-one video lessons. I think this enhances the customer experience more than many customer services replaced by AI.In addition, the website is easy to convert. So I think it is useful and customer-centric and convenient to buy.

Special service

These are three different functional services (Virtual Try-On Tools, Skincare Finder, Foundation Finder), the most fascinating part. You can find a product that suits you through testing. I think this is very suitable for people who don’t know about beauty or skin care, and this opens up more possibilities for all customers. After you choose a product, you can use the virtual trial, which saves time for customers and no longer needs to go to the store to try it. This series of services are intended to develop potential customer service and provide more efficient and convenient services.

A customer-centric website makes it impossible to refuse to shop on it. Perhaps this is one of the reasons why Estee Lauder is still among the best after so many years.

--

--