It’s Skinny Without the Pop, Even After You Eat It!

Katrina Arthur
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readOct 10, 2021

Someone say Skinny Pop?

🙋🏽‍♀️ I did! Who doesn’t love the fact that you can have the pop and the skinny at the same time? Skinny Pop prides itself on one thing, its simplicity. Consisting of only popcorn, sunflower oil and salt, it’s “Pure Popped Perfection!”

A bit of history.

Launched in just 2010, the company has grown vastly and is now responsible for 22.7% of the “ready to eat popcorn” market. They account for nearly one fourth of the market share. Previously made by Amplify Snacks, the company was bought by the industry giant — Hershey Co. for $1.6 billion in 2018. Amplify Snack still makes it, Hershey just owns them.

So, does Skinny Pop’s website live up to it’s value?

That’s a debatable question. I personally love Skinny Pop and when I love a product, I tend to look into it. My second stop you ask (my first is always Instagram, duh), but their website is usually where I wind up when I’m wanting to find out more. As a digital marketer, there are many things that I consider when looking at a website.

Skinny Pop’s website is easy to navigate, clean, and most of all simple. By looking at it’s design, you can tell that it’s purpose is to educate the consumer about the brand and sell their products. It’s a useful tool for anyone that would like to find out more about the company’s product; but it’s not nearly as attractive as their Instagram. You can order Skinny Pop online, directly from their website, something that many food/snack companies don’t offer; they just tell you where you can buy their products, most of the time having a store locator.

Skinny Pop Landing Page

Comparing it’s website to it’s other socials, Skinnypop.com is pretty plain if you ask me. I think that they could innovate their design to match that of their Instagram, a much brighter, attractive and fascinating platform. When looking at it, their landing page looks like, well, a bag of original Skinny Pop! It does maintain the companies aesthetics but it’s kind of boring, it doesn’t employ a responsive design and has in my opinion, the bare minimum.

Skinny Pop’s Instagram Account

If you are on their website, it’s most likely because of one of two reasons, you are already an existing customer or you want to sell their product. The content on the site is educational, but it’s not entertaining nor does it inspire a conversion (the desire to buy it). If you want to contact them, its easy; they have a Contact Us form that you can fill out and let them know what you are inquiring about. They could do a bit of innovation and add in AI or chat bots to help the consumer and ease communication.

Last but not least, there is only one thing that I truly can not stand; the stupid pop-up window to subscribe to their news letter every single time that I navigate back to their home page. I know that it is a form of marketing, but this time its in your face too much. Especially when they have a “Sign Up” button on the top of the page; if I want to subscribe and find out more, I will.

Is it fascinating?

No. At least not in my opinion and even more so when their Mobile site is exactly the same. I think it’s very generic and lacks a sense of personality. Being such a valuable and popular company, they should spruce it up a bit and give communicate the personality that it truly has through their website as well.

Despite their website not living up to its standard; Skinny Pop is a great brand with a great product.

In case you needed a laugh, I know this ad gave me one! I can’t say any of those words either; can you?

And don’t think my dislike for their website changes my opinion of their product, I still love it. It’s the perfect thing to snack on during any occasion, especially while I’m working.

*Opens a bag of Skinny Pop*

--

--

Katrina Arthur
Marketing in the Age of Digital

★ Texan Born and Raised ★ Parsons School of Design Alumni ★ Graphic Designer ★ NYU Integrated Marketing SPS Student ★