Jessica The Provocateur: “Nobody Knows What it Means, but It’s Provocative.”

Jessica Hosey
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJun 21, 2020

The idea of how someone else sees me has always been something that intrigued me because I always felt slightly misunderstood. I think Sally Hogshead got it right with her Fascination Advantage Assessment; she has created the only test that “measures how the world sees you.” From the quick test, my personality type was labeled as the Provocateur. The Provocateur is described as an unorthodox individual who tends to shy away from attention but whose ideas are cutting-edge and thought-provoking. One of the most interesting descriptors of this personality type to me is that “you don’t over-communicate, which adds to the curiosity you provoke.” I’ve always felt this way about myself. I would never describe myself as quiet, but I am very selective with my words, especially in professional settings.

Sally Hogshead used five adjectives to really break down the personality.

Source: Kristen Bruton
  • Clever: Cleva is actually my favorite song by THE Erykah Badu. I love the way she talks about how she may not look perfect to the eye, but it doesn’t matter because she’s “cleva and always on your mind.”
  • Adept: My intelligence could always be seen through my work in school, but I think it also shines through from the conversations I have with those around me. Even this NYU graduate degree will be adding to my adeptness.
  • Contemporary: If you didn’t know, my favorite app is Twitter, so it helps me stay up to date with what’s going in the world and with my social circle. From my outfits to ideas, I definitely keep up with the times.
  • State-Of-The-Art: I pride myself in standing tall in my ideas and thoughts, no matter who disagrees. That type of confidence was instilled in me from my mom, dance teachers, and my sorority.
  • Surprising: Yes, I may “hate” surprises, but I do think I always surprise those who are first meeting me. Because of that mystique-ness, my first impression is usually very different than the last impression I make after a few interactions. My humor shines as well as my intelligence and compassion.

Yes. This is me in a nutshell, and I will tell you why.

She’s Innovative. She’s Mystique.

The archetype is classified by two very descriptive characteristics: being innovative and mystique.

I think these two advantages will take me far in the world of marketing. As a marketer, you need the ability to continuously be innovative in an everchanging landscape. No matter your industry or discipline, being the person with fresh and new ideas will carry you to success; given favorable circumstances of course. The ability to be mystique and leave people wanting more or always guessing can be a blessing and a curse. On the one hand, people always have more to learn about you. You are independent in your thoughts and stay calm in stressful situations, which may leave confused or surprised. On the other hand, others thrive with people who are overly communicative and very expressive. While I can be in certain areas, the professional arena is not necessarily one of them for me. I let the innovative work and ideas speak for themselves.

I will use this information to guide and enhance my strong suits as a marketer while keeping in mind the disadvantages that may arise. Hogshead describes these as adhering to my own unconventional path as well as adding value when I am able to “run with revolutionary ideas.” From my perspective, it seems as though I would only be able to thrive at companies and in positions where I can dance to the beat of my own drum and don’t feel constricted in any capacity. Some structure is definitely necessary for success. I will use these perceived disadvantages as a way to reign in my need to always be free in my work and keep structure when needed, while still creating fascinating work.

She’s Fascinating.

The idea of fascinating was brilliantly explained in Sally Hogshead’s Tedx Talk. Because of the increased competition and decreased attention spans of others, it is important to fascinate those you are marketing yourself to. She breaks down the need to fascinate by these three steps:

  • HARNESS YOUR FIRST 9 SECONDS — With people’s attention spans getting shorter and shorter, you really only have 9 seconds to make that first lasting impression to really reel them in so they stay and continue to listen.
  • USE YOUR NATURAL FASCINATION TALENT — Hone in on what really makes you special and unique. The thing that comes naturally to you so that you are able to amplify it in a way that makes you unforgettable.
  • MAKE PEOPLE FALL IN LOVE WITH YOUR IDEAS — Once you make people fall in love with your ideas, they are able to make a lasting impact. This is the ultimate goal as you want to make your mark with the ideas you create.

These simple yet powerful tools will set anyone up for becoming fascinating in their craft. I think it is necessary to follow these guidelines if you want to separate yourself from being ok or good to great and impressive. I hope to find my natural fascination talent so that I can harness the first 9 seconds to make people fall in love with my ideas.

--

--

Jessica Hosey
Marketing in the Age of Digital

I’m just here to say what needs to be said. Aspiring Marketer. Current NYU Grad Student. Forever Foodie.