Journey Through Crocs’ New Account Review

Yinxiao Jiang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readNov 4, 2023

Have you joined the Crocs family? If not please take action quickly, you won’t want to miss it. To explore the email marketing of Dr. Martens’ competitors. I recently signed up for a new Crocs account. I was surprised to find that its registration process was just like the theme of its shoes, customized and comfortable.

Registration Page

The registration process is simple, it requires the usual personal details such as name (even if it’s fake, it can be any nickname you want), email address, and password. The fields are clearly labeled the rules for passwords are conventional (8 characters+ 1 number+ 1 lowercase letter+ 1 capital letter), and the user interface is very simple and intuitive. Of course, what is slightly more complicated is that you need to enter your email and password twice to confirm. I understand that Crocs is doing this for the sake of user account consistency, but I did not encounter this situation during the registration process of Dr. Martens. Also, Crocs does not lock the input box and this process can be copied and pasted directly. I suggest that Crocs can optimize this.

Then?

After completing the registration, I was immediately directed to the preferences page, which asked me who I usually buy products for, my preference for Crocs style and occasions for using Crocs, and my birthday. I can also choose to finish this part later. This is a thoughtful setting and shows Corcs’s attention to the personal needs of customers. Unfortunately, I did not receive any welcome email after registering. At the bottom of the page it had a prompt to join the club and suggested that if I was willing to join the Crocs club, which is a loyalty program, I would get 15% off on my next order. Since it’s free, why not join? Immediately after I agreed to join, I received a “welcome to the club” email.

Welcome Email

The cover of the welcome email was a poster with a clear call to action that included my exclusive discount code and “Let’s Go Shopping,” which was a great way to drive traffic back to its website. Yes, it’s very intuitive and encapsulates its key information. At the same time, the email was styled with vivid images. As customers scroll down, they can see Crocs’ colorful display of shoes and click on the link to instantly jump to the official website.

But its shortcomings were also obvious because this was not a personalized email that addressed me by my user name instead of a cold discount poster. In this email it mentioned “Unique Starts With You”, but the welcome email lacked customization which was ridiculous. The responsive design also lacked optimization. This was a mobile-friendly email. When opening on a desktop device, the borders could have a lot of white space. My browsing experience was choppy.

Since I didn’t make any purchases, I haven’t received any follow-up advertising emails yet. Overall, the design of Crocs’ welcome email is successful. It provides discounts in the most prominent position and displays products frequently. Therefore, customers are easily attracted and visit the website. But I hope they can optimize its email marketing more, integrating value and action.

--

--

Yinxiao Jiang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
0 Followers

NYU Integrated Marketing, Renting agent assistent