Last Call

Steven Branda
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJul 3, 2020

For many of us, we miss the days of grabbing a drink with colleagues after work and planning fun weekends with friends at a local bar.

There were plenty of reasons to visit a bar or restaurant but it also gave us a chance to be adventurous. The bartender or server would ask, “what would you like to drink?”, as you scanned the shelves of alcohol behind the bar or read over a menu. Being adventurous, you might have asked for a recommendation or chosen the bar’s speciality cocktail.

But for now, those moments have been put on hold. You can order drinks online through various delivery services but it’s just not the same. We miss being in overcrowded venues and shoving our way to the bar to order a drink (not really) from a wide range of options.

While this is our strange new reality and I for one am missing adventure and variety, I stumbled (I was sober, I swear!) upon a way to bring the bar to me.

Browsing through the Apple App Store I found the perfect app, Tattersall Distilling. Right away I was attracted to the contrasting colors and sleek appeal. But most importantly the cocktails. Reading the description, the app allows you to share recipes with your friends and family, and offers the chance for your original recipe to be featured by creating an instagram post with the hashtag #TattersallApp.

This app already had me hooked and I had never even heard of Tattersall Distilling.

After the download you are presented with the featured recipes and asked, ‘What are you in the mood to make?’. You make a selection from three options; type of spirit, difficulty and occasion.

Since I like Tequila, I selected that as my type of spirit, medium as my difficulty, and I chose all occasions. I’m given a good amount of recipes including ingredients and instructions to make the drink.

I suddenly feel like I am a bartender. (I actually was for a while years ago)

I looked through the many recipes and later shared my chosen recipes with my friends. Hopefully one day I can show off my new bartending skills, but for now, I will continue to practice.

Going further into the app, I clicked on a tab called Barback — a clever way to represent who is responsible for the app. You are provided with links to learn more about Tattersall Distilling and where to find their products.

Lo and behold I find out who they are! A distillery in Minneapolis, Minnesota. I never would have guessed that. Their website has a similar aesthetic to the app and presents them as a modern, innovative and exciting brand.

As a marketing tool for the brand, Tattersall Distilling’s app nailed it. The simplicity and design drew me in from the start and kept me engaged with the possibility of having my recipe featured online. They offer their customers variety, with recipes to suit every occasion and they can appeal to a wider audience with varying difficulty levels.

I will hold onto this app even after quarantine. It will be a great resource to use amongst friends and family. As a New Yorker, I would have never thought of using an app for a distillery in Minnesota, but if I am ever in that area, I will be visiting Tattersall Distilling for sure.

©Steven Branda Photography

--

--

Steven Branda
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Student & Employee | Photographer | Learner | Graduate in Integrated Marketing program