Let’s get Shacking!

Peichen Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 8, 2020

I’ve heard the name of Shake Shack for a long time, and this makes me really want to have a try.

When I was in San Francisco Bay area, I fell in love with one fast-casual restaurant named In-N-Out Burger. The cheeseburger and animal style fries were my favorite, I also love the strawberry milkshake. People call In-N-Out burger “West Coast Shake Shack”. Which made me so curious about Shake Shack. Now I’m in New York, and I finally went to Shake Shack a few weeks ago, and I love it, too! A lot of customers waiting in lines and the fantastic tasting gives me a feeling that Shake Shack is my “East Coast In-N-Out”. I download its APP for future use as well. Generally, I feel it’s a pleasure to use its APP.

What does it look like?

First of all, it is useful. After signing up, customers can start order by clicking the bottom “Time to get shackin’”. The app is designed not for delivery, so when we order we can choose a pickup time. We can schedule every 15 min. I’ve used a few APPs like this, I would not say it is innovative, but the web UX is a bit different from others. When we open the APP, the first page is a single page, we cannot scroll down, this is very unique! There is no utilize gaming or augmented reality in the APP. I think it is reasonable since when people use this APP to order food, they want to save time by scheduling pickup time. Without those features can also save time for the customers. As for the purpose, it’s obvious to provide customers an alternative way — to order online.

How’s the Design?

It is simple and easy to navigate. The panel is on the top left of the page, and there are no many fancy options users can do with the APP. It’s straightforward. Its aesthetic design is also appropriate, the white background gives users a feeling of simplistic, clean, and order. Like I mentioned, I feel it’s a pleasure to use Shake Shack’s APP due to those facts I analyzed. Customers like Shake Shack, and the APP provide an easy and time-saving way to place an order. Thus, I believe it helps retain customers and keep them engaged with the brand.

Why we give it a space on the smartphone?

In addition, I think Shake Shack will gain market share because of the APP. It does make business sense since people use smartphones frequently. It’s a trend for a fast-casual restaurant to have its own APP. Download this APP is necessary for people who cannot leave the taste of Shake Shack Burger, and who are in a hurry and want to make the time more effective. As for me, it worths the space on my smartphone. I am not a Hangry person, but I also don’t like waiting the lines.

Let’s get Shackin’.

--

--

Peichen Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Grad student majoring in Integrated Marketing, Digital Marketing, Analytics