Let’s share some Kinder chocolates

Caroline Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readOct 1, 2023

Hi friends, welcome back to Caroline’s Mojo Dojo Casa House for Marketing! It’s been a long week of rain and storms, so I prepared some hot tea and chocolates for you. Come have a seat and share this Kinder Bueno with me!

Image from Kinder website

Ever since I can remember, Kinder’s chocolates have accompanied me through my ups and downs: the sunny days hiking with families and the gloomy nights pulling all-nighters for exams. So, that day, after I grabbed this Kinder Bueno from the grocery store, I decided to go on their website to see what my sweet little oompa loompas have been working on lately.

Purpose

Kinder’s website was instantly a “Wow!” for me. It forms a cute and blissful image which is very consistent with the products they provide. As a consumer goods brand, one of Kinder’s most important purposes would be to generate more sales. Their website clearly conveys this purpose with tempting product images and detailed product descriptions. When I clicked on one of the multiple call-to-action buttons, it led me to their mouthwatering product detail page. It was very hard not to crave chocolate when I saw the fudge dripping and the nuts bouncing in front of me.

Conveys brand message and personality

Kinder’s brand message seems to be very simple and clear. The word “joy” appears many times in different places. “Joy” has been written in their mission. “Joy” became one of their products. They also launched a social responsibility project called “Joy of Moving.” While the brand message revolves around joyfulness, the website elements all conform to this message well.

User-centered

In my opinion, the website has a good user-centered design. The navigation menus are clear and concise both on PC and mobile. They are intuitive and easy to read. What I like the most is the “Our Toys” part of the website. I’d imagine the 10-year-old me clicking on each one of them, counting how many more eggs I should get to complete my collection.

Easy navigation on mobile

Design & Simplicity of Use

Overall, I would say their design is an 8 out of 10. The bright orange color and hand-written notes gave me a sense of playfulness and human interaction. As much as I like the aesthetics of the webpage, I like their simple and intuitive navigation menus. However, there are still two things I can’t get over: one is the clarity of their images, and the second is the fonts of their product descriptions. For me as a customer, the blurry images will discredit the brand, and the inconsistent fonts will pull me out of that human interaction they created.

The font I want them to change so badly
Blurry images make me rub my eyes

Employing responsive design

To test the website’s responsiveness, I opened it on my PC, tablet, and mobile. They fit well both horizontally and vertically, with small adjustments made for easier navigation on tablet and mobile. I didn’t come across that “slap my phone” thought, so I’d say it’s good.

Content quality

Being a consumer goods brand, Kinder’s most important content may be its products. When it comes to the website, there certainly are contents that add value to the brand. However, I would like to see more relevant and engaging content, such as their seasonal specials for the upcoming Halloween.

Ease of conversion

The website has abundant call-to-action buttons, allowing easy conversions. They employed the “Learn More” button widely. There is always something to click on: for its product info, for an app download, or for a social media follow.

Their eye-catching CTA buttons

Integration of AI/Chatbots/Interactivity or anything else using emerging technologies

As far as I could tell, Kinder hasn’t been integrating AI on its website. However, I would imagine how fun it could be if they incorporated AI to engage consumers. It could be for customizing your chocolate bar with seasonal flavors, or it could be for designing your toys for special occasions.

Achieves Business Objective

Overall, I think Kinder’s website conveys its business objective clearly and concisely. But since we are forward-thinking marketing people, I would suggest that my oompa loompa friends improve their website content in the aspects I mentioned.

Now, I guess you have had enough chocolates for today. Let’s digest a bit, and I’ll have something different for you next week!

--

--

Caroline Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A foodie, park-goer, and herb-lover, studying Integrated Marketing @ NYU