Live Your Legacy…But Tinted.

Parima Persaud
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 6, 2022

A tribute to traditions. Specifically beauty.

My great-grandmothers. My grandmothers. My mom.

My mom, 1978

They all used something I still use today: kajal. Or in other words, eyeliner. Whether it was to protect the eyes from diseases or ward off evil eye, it was something passed down from generation to generation.

Okay, so you’re probably thinking, “Pari, if this is going to be a story about eyeliner, I’m just going to Allure’s website.”

Don’t. We’re about to dive deeper than eyeliner.

Live Tinted’s campaign for Huestick in shade Legacy, 2021

Deepica Mutyala, beauty influencer turned founder and CEO of Live Tinted, promoted a new product shade her company launched last year by paying homage to her cultural roots. Two specific pieces of content were launched to talk about the shade Legacy on the company’s Instagram.

Deepica applying Legacy to her eyes in the Huestick campaign, 2021

In one of the videos, Deepica spoke about growing up watching her mom apply kajal, how it inspired Legacy, and embracing culture we’ve inherited. By the end of the short video, she was dressed in a saree, looking almost identical to what her mom looked like on her wedding day and asking the question, “What’s your Legacy?”.

Different ethnicity. Same story.

While watching this campaign, I couldn’t help but think about how something as simple as eyeliner has been a part of my life as well.

As a baby, like many other South Asians and Indo-Caribbeans, I was given a black dot on my forehead with kajal to cast away any evil eye. And similar to Deepica, I also watched my mom apply kajal to her eyes whenever we were going out.

A black dot, or tikka, is placed on the forehead to ward off evil eye, 1993

This was the story for many growing up and through this campaign, and with the overall brand message of Live Tinted, Deepica was able to relate to those who share similar moments.

While I mentioned I’m a huge advocate for inclusion and diversity in the beauty and fashion industries in my first blog post, I admire Deepica’s way of expressing how legacy can be something from the past but also something we create now for the future.

Asking “What change do we want to make?” and “What new path do we want to chart?” gives viewers the opportunity to want to share their thoughts and be a part of a legacy movement that the world needs.

So let’s do our part and start the conversation here:

What’s your legacy?

Love&Light Always — Pari

--

--

Parima Persaud
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU | Integrated Marketing. Mental Health Awareness advocate. Spiritual & Self-Care enthusiast. All while drinking tea avidly.