Mail me the burrito please! Navigating the Guac-tastrophe

Pratha Canser
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 13, 2024

Ooh I’m sorry, if by now you all don’t get my obsession with Chipotle y’all are not reading my blogs enough. But this one is more about the marketing aspects, through lets say the most efficient way (believe it or not), Email. Let’s just say it was about as smooth as trying to roll a burrito after you’ve overfilled it with extra umm, everything. Signing up was a bit of a saga. It took multiple attempts, with the same info needed to be punched in repeatedly. And can we talk about the mandatory phone number requirement? Look, Chipotle, I love you, but I’m not ready for that kind of commitment. Somehow you understood the love I have for you chipotle (took you long enough) and we got through it. WE SIGNED UP. After what felt like a digital quest, I finally received the coveted verification code on my phone. Victory was mine! Or so I thought. Where is my “Hi beautiful, welcome to world of what you love most…. FOOD?” With no welcome email in sight, I felt like I was standing outside a closed Chipotle, hungry and confused. And trust me a Hangry women? Nope, not good.

Ok so it did take me a while to write this blog as I wanted to wait until after I signed up and see how the emails work and the frequency and stuff for the same. But when they did it was more like, “Oh, they’re sending emails now btw, alright”. It’s like they decided to make up for the lack of a welcome email by bombarding my inbox with messages. I’m all for staying in touch, but let’s not turn this into a long-distance relationship, Chipotle. Is this relationship stuff getting creepy now? Can you blame me though? Alone and in New York, ugh. Ok lets stop talking about my “not so happening” love life and get back to our topic (not as fun as my love life but whatever)

Are they using email best practices?

The mail I got after a few days of signing up :’)

Well, let’s just say they’re dancing a fine line between salsa and mild. While they’re definitely keeping in touch, the frequency feels a tad bit aggressive. And don’t even get me started on the lack of personalization. I don’t need a daily reminder to order a burrito bowl with extra guac. Okay, maybe I do, but that’s beside the point. As much as I relish the food and as I like it, email marketing could use a bit of “extra spice”.

While I appreciate the effort to stay connected, the execution leaves much to be desired. Make me want to click on your email. Make me crave you. (ok that sounds wrong). Point is ease up on the frequency, sprinkle in some personalization, and for the love of burritos, please don’t make the phone number mandatory. Let’s make this relationship work, one perfectly wrapped burrito at a time. (I swear folks I’m not “that” lonely)

But there you have it, a love story that um did not end as well. (reality check people) I do believe that that are so many brands doing an amazing job with their email marketing. It is that one thing that requires least of your marketing budget, so why not take full advantage of the same? Let’s see if Chipotle can keep up.

Your true love Chipotle,

ME!

--

--