Marketing, Me, and MyLifeStyle

Mengning Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 7, 2021

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

Let’s Begin from Here

Hello everyone, My name is Mengning Zhang. Welcome to my first blog. I can’t wait to know you all!

First I want to make a brief introduction of myself. I graduated from Penn State University double majored in Communications and Economics. Beyond that, I have always wanted to work in the marketing field. I enjoy a marketer’s constant demand to communicate with people. I appreciate marketing’s ample career development opportunities for both frontline and behind-the-scenes roles. I am inspired by the creative and innovative potential of marketing so as to create a competitive advantage in the ferocious market. So Integrated Marketing Communications is an area that deserves my lifelong dedication.

Marketing, Me, and MyLifeStyle

With an aspiration to pursue a fulfilling career in the Marketing Communications industry, I secured a working opportunity at a career consulting company, where I participated in creating client’s databases and making data analysis report and completing marketing plan, including preliminary design and functional design. I was mainly in charge of creating full content for the company’s official website and collecting data from international websites. At the beginning of managing client’s databases, I found myself lack a lot of the relevant knowledge. By self-teaching relevant knowledge online and consulting my colleagues, I quickly equipped myself with the required knowledge through using SQL to make three different databases. I also got myself familiarized with the whole procedure of making competitor research and cultivated my comprehensive capabilities. Moreover, by planning and holding New York Elites Networking Party and cooperating with my teammates at New York University for healthcare products give-away marketing events, I also strengthened my teamwork spirit in developing projects and communication skills in dealing with clients.

This work experience has given me lots of new aspects about marketing. Among all of them, I found that the key is to communicate, not to sell. As marketers, we are aiming to build long-lasting relationships with our partners.

More about my experience with marketing, I once had an internship at Royal Group Technologies which enhanced my practical skills in Marketing Communications. I was responsible for reading and analyzing the financial data of the company, including sales figures, market research, transportation costs and accomplishing a data report for the company to make better marketing decision. Also, I joined the “Vietnam Export Antidumping Negotiation” team and gained a lot of knowledge about international trading during that trip. It was a fruit experience as I learned how to accomplish comprehensive research, how to understand clients’ inquiries and make business deals, make competitor research and industry report.

What to Expect

You see, I can’t stop writing when it comes my life with marketing experiences. I am such attracted by the power of international marketing development. In my next blogs, you will be able to find out more about my own understanding of this subject and my own practice of marketing principles. Trust me, you will fall in love with it as well!

A Couple Words at the End

Finally, we have all overcame a rough 2020.

2021 is a new start for chasing our dream and make it come true.

I wish you all good luck on that.

--

--