McDonald’s “Hungry? Let’s fix that”

haoran du
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 11, 2023
https://ifunny.co/picture/discover-your-deal-there-s-fresh-offers-every-week-start-A2iBAmZz9

Why McDonald’s?

The reason why I choose McDonald’s is that I love McDonald’s. Not only the great taste of food but also the brand’s color makes me happy whenever I see it. That made me become a fan of McDonald’s and ordered from them frequently.

How to Order?

Besides going directly to the offline McDonald’s store, there are couple more ways of ordering McDonald’s online. We are going to take a look at the two ways of ordering from McDonald’s online that are provided by themselves: a website on desktop and a phone app for mobile users.

https://www.mcdonalds.com/us/en-us/full-menu.html

What are the differences?

After I browsed two devices for McDonald’s, I can tell some differences between them. First of all, whenever you are going to McDonald’s online, you will be able to see the full menu immediately, you can see the menu with all the pictures and choose what you want to eat, but on the phone app, the first thing you can tell is the deals they have right now, and menu click. You have to click on the menu to make your choice. I think the purpose of them is both to provide customers with information and let them be able to order.

Even though they are different in the design for desktop and mobile, I think they are all really useful because the desktop took the advantage of the device to show the whole menu with pictures to customers, to make them easier to see what McDonald’s has, and to make decisions easier. The mobile app is designed more conciselyso that people can still tap on the menu to place their orders. So from the perspective of users, I would use the desktop version if I have the condition, but if not, I will accept the mobile version either. I mean they both work!

https://9to5mac.com/2017/03/01/mcdonalds-mobile-order-pay-delivery/

What else?

After we took the look at the usefulness, purpose, and design. I noticed that both the desktop version and mobile version convey their brand message which is to provide food for customers, that’s the main point of McDonald’s! Also, that is why both versions made the menu easy to attach because they are all user-centered apps that want to provide services to users.

No need to say, they are all easy to place the order You just need to click on what you want and add them to your cart, then click check out.

What’s my POV?

Well, in my point of view, I think the desktop is more pretty than the mobile version, because those pictures they provided, would give me a better feeling. But both versions can provide as much help as you need. They both have the Q&A part to answer users’ questions, and on the Contact Us part, users can submit any questions they have about McDonald’s.

Even though those two versions are pretty much different on a lot of parts, they have great content provided to users, to make sure users can get the information they wanted, they made it easy for users to place orders from their pages, and then transfer them to their customers.

After all those comparisons, I think McDonald’s did a good job of providing those two versions online, and having great user experiences. it achieved the business objective of letting people place orders online.

--

--