Me, Marketing & Magic

Ekta Khurana
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJan 28, 2024
Hi!

Have you ever met someone beaming with energy and wanting to win the world, hello hello..that’s ME!

Happy things first

Hi there, I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am to get to know you. And before I begin and get on with my excitement level, I would like to say “Thank You” that you are spending time reading this blog of mine and getting to know me.

A little background

As sure as I sound of the course of my life, had you met me a couple of years ago, I was spending time crunching numbers and delving into balance sheets, when one fine day, I had an epiphany!! Not sure if I would call it my path, but I certainly realized that I needed to change the trajectory of my life. So, the numbers became an indulgence and I decided to get into the field of marketing. Long story short, that’s how my love for marketing began.

Who am I?

My name is Ekta, and you can call me “E”. Taking the cue from the universe and diving into my love for marketing, I am currently pursuing my Masters in Integrated Marketing from NYU with hopes to do my concentration in Brand and Digital Marketing and in this very moment, trying to bring my creative levels up to get started on my blog… (woohoo!! Massively exciting). Before I tell you all about my blog and what you are in for, I want to do a huge shout out to Prof Tombrakos for nudging us to explore our creative side and start writing a blog, a lot less like an assignment and more to develop our own voice.

Well then…

What’s the blog about?

Okay so here am I …spilling the beans…This blog will cover my love for the domain of marketing, the ever evolving and the rapidly changing one. I will talk about all things, MARKETING, especially from a digital perspective, be that social media or the algorithm that tells you all about your feed. Did you know that Forbes wrote an article capturing the changing landscape of Digital Marketing?? Whether you are someone who loves social media or uses it bleakly, chances are that you know the game of algorithm. And no worries if you don’t, I got you covered. Here’s an article that I picked up if you’d like to know what this terminology means in the domain of social media.

Now, whether you are someone who enjoys the aroma of an organic or a masala tea or a freshly brewed cup of coffee and loves to start the day with a fresh dose of a marketing nuance, this is your place to be.

So, brace yourself, (drum rolls please) ladies and gentlemen, as I dive into the nitty gritty of Digital Marketing with this blog.

What to Expect?

For the next ten weeks, you’ll receive a blog capturing my insights backing data and facts and at times, asking you questions on the topic assigned in our class’s publication theme: “Marketing in the Age of Digital”.

Sweet that you are…

Our plan ahead

I will read the blogs of my classmates, refine my style of writing, and develop my unique voice and in this journey, I ask you to indulge in the content with my writing as I find my own voice and perspective to topics and then nurture them.

When Malcolm Gladwell claimed in his book Outliers that it takes 10000 hours of practice to achieve greatness in any field, I think I took it very seriously and I believe that I am just getting started…

Looking forward to reaching out to your inbox with my weekly blog. I can’t wait to meet you!!!!

--

--

Ekta Khurana
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A believer in all things- Magic & Marketing. I am taking baby steps in writing blogs on Digital Marketing. Curiosity, Happiness & Content- my three essentials