MERCEDES BENZ- From Website To App: An Overview

Anthony Guerrieri
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readMar 8, 2020

Apps are annoying.

I don’t care what anyone says because they’re not cute or fun, they’re just another transparent attempt at companies to cash in an extra dollar. Sure there are some apps that are extremely convenient that I put to good use in my daily life, but my email address is feeling a little abuse from how many times I have used it to register for an app that I truly do not need. Come our next contender, the Mercedes Me App, truly a waste of my email address’ time and patience.

The Mercedes Me app is much like its website: sleek, simple, cool, and monotonous with a very what you see is what you get interface. Which, again, can be either a good thing or a bad thing depending on how you look at it. The app is essentially a one stop shop for your Mercedes needs.

You can:

• View your manuals and how-to videos
• Schedule payments with Mercedes-Benz Financial Services
• Contact your dealer and schedule service
• Speak to a Product Concierge, your vehicle tech expert
• View your MBFS lease or finance info and enroll in Auto Pay
• Access Roadside Assistance
• Edit your account and contact information
• Manage multiple vehicles
• Discover exclusive perks at partner resorts
• See the latest news from Mercedes-Benz

Which sounds nice and all, but it lacks innovation that really makes the app a vital asset to your everyday life. Sure the roadside assistance is great if you’re in a pickle… but is this something you actually need a whole application for? I am not so sure. Mercedes is a “mature car” and most users I can imagine only really need this app for those specific reasons but to a digital marketing major like myself, this app doesn’t really do much for me. All of these features can be Googled very easily, or bypassed by simply calling your Mercedes dealer. I wasn’t expecting fireworks and an avatar with unlimited Mercedes intelligence (shoutout to the failed ARTPOP app), but it would be pretty cool wouldn’t it? If Mercedes were too amp up their app game and make something truly cool and dare I say ~avant-garde~ they can maybe pull in a new generation of Mercedes drivers that appreciate technological innovation along with luxury.

I’m watching you Mercedes, lets see what you come up with next.

--

--