Outdated Blogs are still Traffic Producers

Hannah Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJan 29, 2023
Key elements of a blog

Not as a prototype of Generation Z, I never wrote a blog before and seldom read blogs, to be honest. Nonetheless, I felt so excited to write blogs weekly to be a storyteller, even a writer.

Writing is fun to me. I usually talk a lot in my diary without thinking about other things, so a weekly one for the internet might be another good way for me to express ideas. One thing different is I must consider the content to be attractive to who are reading and making efforts to draw people’s attention.

I got to know a lot about blogging from Joanne, which is the beginning of my blogging journey because she said “The best way to learn is by getting your hands dirty”. So I believe practice makes perfect, blogging can be the hobby or the door to a bright career.

As we all know blogging is still a great way to market our target audiences, but how efficiency is blogging? I believe majority of people have this question, so I did little research to solve this for us.

Does Blog bring traffic?

The answer is YES!

· Each month, 409 and more million people visit over 20 billion pages

· 46% of audiences consider recommendations by bloggers

· Active marketers who earn over $50,000 are 70% of bloggers

· With blogging for marketing purposes, you can see 13 times the ROI of businesses that don’t

Even though Facebook, Twitter, TikTok, and Instagram now is so popular, other social media platforms are still working hard to drive leads. Website is a big part of advertising, and so is blogging. Lots of information including recommendations, sales, and comparisons could be inserted into the content of a blog.

What am I anticipating for blogging journey?

When I was watching Sex and the City, which is my favorite TV show and the reason I come to New York City, Carrie Bradshaw is a writer who is always struggling to catch up with the deadline for her weekly column in The New York Observer I really love she is writing her column in front of a computer and typing the story of friends and herself.

To be honest, I love thinking and writing so much. Therefore, if got the chance, I would write down something in my notebook or computer to help me think through some tough things recently. Something like daily goals will help me to improve in the short term; feelings of relationship; analysis of recent mistakes; and long-term goals. Writing some thoughts down helps me become better and better because I know myself better with self-reflection.

Of course, I expect to write more beyond myself. Observing the trends and doing research for novel topics would help me know the world better. Since loving challenging and creating, I am welcoming to all tricky topics. New trends related to marketing are more fun for me to explore, cannot wait for the following weeks. Please go and read with me from now!

--

--

Hannah Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Marketing with Digital emphasis in University of Georgia - Marketing in Data Analysis in NYU - Lots of marketing, music, food, self-discipline, and better self