Palladium — To be Competitor

Jiamiao
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readMar 26, 2023

The ease of signing up for a brand’s email list depends on the brand’s website and user experience design. Some brands make it easy and straightforward to sign up, while others may make it more difficult or confusing. It is also important to note that some brands may have different sign-up processes for different types of emails, such as newsletters, promotions, or transactional emails.

For the Palladium customer, Signup is not a difficult work. First of all, on the official homepage of Palladium, there will be a popup advertisement at the bottom to remind the users who come in at all times, and they can get a certain discount. If the customer signs up and makes a purchase decision, they would get the discount. The wording “Unlock” and the phrase “First to know” are part of a call to action that can attract customers.

After signing up customer should enter their phone number, which means customers trade their two major information to the discount. The information back in the phone number is your city where you live now or where have you used to live. More, the branding might know which communication operator you are using

I personally consider phone number is one of my important privacy and not as easy to throw away as emails. So entering a phone number makes me reconsider my decision to sign up and make a purchase.

Check the texts and reply “Y” TO confirm my subscription. — The third step

If I am not very interested in this brand and product, I will choose to leave. Because I lost a certain of trust when I was asked to provide my phone number, and there is a third step which means the company will check whether the number is correct, and you are using now or not.

BUT

There is another way for Palladium to sign up. when you are trying to login , there is a button a register, at the bottom corner on the login popup page

In this page, customer can provide their email address, not their phone numbers. But if the customer did not check the box — which means they have to receive the promotion email, and agree with privacy agreement -, they cannot register as a new customer. There is only two sides, black and white, for this step.

I received the email to active my account.

When I clicked on the “activate your account”, I jumped to their home page of the official website.

When I went through the entire customer registration process, I didn’t see any welcome emails and words, and I couldn’t get the corresponding emotional comfort of exchanging information in the follow-up, and I felt offended when I was asked for my phone number.

What’s more, the brand puts users in a dilemma. If I want to register an account, my email must receive a large number of promotional emails, my phone number will be exchanged, and I may receive a large number of SMS in the future

(I became a palladium purchased customer last year, and it turns out that I did receive a bunch of messages from them, which I couldn’t tolerate.)

So far the question we can see on sign up to palladium new customer:

  1. Asked too many information (email and phone number)
  2. Did not care about which information is more private, which means they underestimated the importance of the privacy of mobile phone numbers
  3. The information required by the two registration systems is different, one is email + phone number, and the other is email only.
  4. After providing the phone number, the phone number needs to be activated “reply Y to confirm phone number”. There are too many steps and it is easy to give up.
  5. There is no message throughout that the brand welcomes new customers

Overall, the way a brand uses email depends on their goals, audience, and messaging. It is important for brands to consider their users’ needs and preferences when developing their email strategy, and to continually test and optimize their approach to ensure they are providing value and building meaningful relationships with their subscribers.

--

--

Jiamiao
Marketing in the Age of Digital

a Digital Marketing student in NYU, works on SEM & Paid Ads