Personality Tests— Can I Really be “her”?

Fanqun Zhou
Marketing in the Age of Digital
5 min readFeb 13, 2022

As time goes by, sometimes doing personality tests will get me depressed. I am a person with a strong self-identity and self-awareness. The results of the test sometimes only confirm once again what I think of myself — who I am, what I can do, and what I can not do.

Personality tests always paint you in many beautiful terms and tell you that you are talented. This is indeed a very good and favorable psychological implication, just like the law of attraction. When you think you are good and confident, you will develop in your ideal direction. But when the reality is not as good as it should be, or when I’m confused about what to do next, it can actually make me a little stressed and confused. Is this really me?

kinds of personality tests now

Therefore, more than knowing who I am, I want to know what I can do and how I can be the “one” as the results described. As Sally said in the video, we don’t live in a vacuum; we have to express and show ourselves.

But, how?

me after taking tests again

Bang! Here comes the How to Fascinate YOU test.

Why I like the How to Fascinate You test is because it not only tells you what you can do but how to avoid your weakness in life, which is the Dormant Advantage.

Dormant Advantage is the one that holds the least potential for you in fascinating others; it’s how you are least likely to influence and impress others.

This actually inspired me very much. When I was in the pain of uncertainty and confusion about my future, this test helped me analyze my vulnerability and the kind of environment in which I would lose myself and bind my abilities. The spot-on view of my weaknesses can make me instantly awake and more open to using my strengths to be myself and shine my own light. Besides, it will show you how the world sees you. Hey, with this, with a settled view, to some certain extent, I have more courage to be “me” and challenge “my boundaries”.

learned a lot
learned a lot

Back to Who I Am & What I am Gonna Do?

my result

My archetype is THE CHANGE AGENT:

My energy and direction gives me the power to inspire other people to be innovative, too.

I have a naturally curious personality. I tend to be pretty fearless in my approach, and this is clear in how you communicate.

When I get on a roll, I can bring people in with a flurry of untraditional approaches.

I am not afraid to be different.

MEANWHILE:

I am not a fan of deadlines and step-by-step processes, I am more excited about instigating new plans than finishing them.

I need to team up with methodical communicators (such as Alert and Mystique), to turn ideas into reality.

This point totally shocked me. Because it talks about many points that I would generally try to avoid. I have a lot of beautiful ideas from time to time, but it’s hard for me to go step by step to put those ideas into reality. I enjoy coming up with novel ideas, and I’m often arrogant because of it, but I’m really missing the full logical closure. I was too lazy to think and practice seriously. Even though I knew I had this shortcoming, I would deliberately ignore it. I had no idea that these 28 questions would put this flaw directly in front of me and force me to look at it and correct it. To be honest, I am pretty grateful for this test. It helped me to become better.

Me Before & After Taking Test

For my fascination advantages, my primary advantage is POWER, and my second advantage is INNOVATION. It says that I can easily win team buy-in and always explore unique ideas. However, as for me, it is the same thing. Cause people do not simply use their power to force others to listen to them or support them but use great ideas. Everyone will only follow something they think is right and worth doing. Therefore, I need to strengthen my ability much more and express them clearly and reasonably. I need to build more relative working experience to combine creativity with the actual market, but always listen and learn from others and immerse myself entirely into the team. In this way, I have deep faith in myself to be an excellent marketer someday, to be the “extraordinary person” in my personality tests.

In the process of self-growth and awareness, I hope we can all like ourselves and become the person we want to be. Build up your character and ability to shine in your career.

Thanks for Reading :)

--

--

Fanqun Zhou
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Dreamer | NYU-IM | Vlogger | NJAU | Love cats | Viva Ice Cream!