Personality Tests: Love Whoever You Are

Ziqi Wang (Kiki)
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readMar 6, 2023

It’s always interesting to know more about yourself. This week, I’ve done the How to Fascinate YOU test, and the result is fun yet not surprising.

How to Fascinate YOU personality test is discovered by Sally Hogshead, who worked as a copywriter and creative director for the world’s most loved brands like Nike and Coca-Cola before creating this test. It is the first marketing-based communication assessment with only 28 questions to answer.

This test is based on branding, not psychology.

It interprets your actions and preferences through the eyes of others.

It identifies your personality’s most fascinating communication advantages.

Your Fascination Advantages are what make you different and most valuable.

Think of them like your natural superpowers. When you communicate using these Advantages, you become more influential, more persuasive, and more successful.

When taking the test, it is easy to notice that all questions are based on my working and communicating behaviors. My archetype is The Maverick Leader. The world sees me as I have a confident and innovative approach to leadership and is not hesitant to initiate a new path for a product or market strategy. I’m constantly generating fresh concepts in my mind and tend to be quite dynamic. I need to ensure that meetings are engaging and lively. If a situation begins to seem repetitive, I’m likely to explore uncharted territory to determine if greater accomplishments can be attained.

My Archetype — The Maverick Leader

My top two advantages are innovation and power. I embrace the opportunities to change and explore. I’m curious, unconventional, and entrepreneurial. Using innovation to persuade, influence, attract, and inspire the ones I meet is my way of using my advantage. Also, with power, I’m confident, goal-oriented, and decisive. I take pleasure in guiding projects and have a talent for obtaining the support of teams, establishing challenging goals for myself both personally and professionally, communicating my views and making intricate decisions with resolute certainty, confronting potential challenges or barriers promptly and with firm determination, and possess a natural ability to lead.

It is also very true that prestige is my dormant advantage. It explains that achieving contentment and self-assurance in my work is generally satisfactory for me, and I tend to avoid displaying my accomplishments as it may cause others to feel inferior. That’s exactly how I feel when working with people. Sometimes others will say that without prestige, ones are not a person with outstanding leadership. It used to make me anxious. This test brought away my worries and make me confident and continue being who I truly am.

The results are not surprising though, as it reminds me of another personality test that I took before, and they answers that they give are so similar. It is the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) personality test.

It gives five personality aspects that, when combined, define the personality type: Mind, Energy, Nature, Tactics, and Identity. Each of these aspects should be seen as a two-sided continuum, with the “neutral” option placed in the middle. The mind shows how we interact with our surroundings, including introverted and extroverted. The energy aspect determines how we see the world and process information and is divided into observant and intuitive. Nature is how we make decisions and cope with emotions, and have thinking individuals and feeling individuals. Tactics reflect our approach to work, planning, and decision-making. Judging individuals are decisive, thorough, and highly organized. Prospecting individuals are very good at improvising and spotting opportunities. Lastly, identity shows how confident we are in our abilities and decisions, including assertive and turbulent.

My Results — ENFP-T

The result I have is ENFP-T. Extroverted, intuitive, feeling, prospecting, and turbulent. The name for this type is Turbulent Campaigner.

Campaigners (ENFPs) are truly free spirits — outgoing, openhearted, and open-minded. With their lively, upbeat approach to life, they stand out in any crowd. But even though they can be the life of the party, Campaigners don’t just care about having a good time. These personality types run deep — as does their longing for meaningful, emotional connections with other people.

ENFPs are curious, perceptive, enthusiastic, and excellent communicators — look how similar the words are to the How to Fascinate YOU tests!

For career paths, ENFPs are easily drawn to nonprofits, public service, counseling, education, customer or public relations, hospitality, media and entertainment, and the service industry. This also explains why I choose marketing as my graduate major.

Overall, the results of the personality tests give me more strength and courage to stay on the right track. However, sometimes we don’t have to take these tests too seriously. When a person is in different life stages or has different statuses at times, the test results may shift from time to time. The purpose of these tests is to make us love who we are and look deep inside us to find the advantages no matter when as it always writes something good that a personality has.

--

--