Quizzes… Why do we love them so much?

Leila Rojas
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJun 14, 2021

It’s interesting how now we love to take quizzes for fun, but when you heard the words “Pop Quiz” coming from your teachers it sent you quickly into a puddle of sweat.

Why the Phenomenon?

We all have self-interest and a desire to define ourselves. It has become an inherent part of our lives. So it’s no surprise that we find ourselves taking quizzes all over social and digital platforms at some point, whether we find them to be true or not. I’ve taken so many over the years for both work and personal. The signature interpretation of my personality was conducted by a previous manager to my in-depth birth natal chart interpretation of my sun sign research I personally did. The seeking curiosity always seems to prevail me and many of us alike unknowingly.

Siri what’s a Fascinate Test???

Siri: Ok I found this on the web for what’s fascinate test check it out….

Me: Automatically clicked on the first choice search on the list to double-check….

When I was told about the Fascinate test, I wanted to see out of curiosity if Siri knew anything about it. In true Siri fashion, it found it right away. Try it… Now sit back and think about what makes you tick. Do you really know how to describe yourself outside of what your family and friends say about you? Perception has an interesting way of having many different angles and views. The angles in which you perceive yourself versus how others do can sometimes skew immensely.

That Catalyst Woman (Passionate & Innovative)

You’re still the same Leila. I’ve heard it over and over throughout my life. It came as no surprise that my results from this Fascinate Test resulted as the Catalyst driven by Passion and Innovation. A natural out-of-the-box thinker fueled with energy and making friends wherever I go, the social butterfly is completely spot on to me. Intuitive at my core, I lead with compassion in everything I do. I flourish when I can add a touch of emotion and creativity to anything I’m working on. Pressure excites me and I thrive on the rush of crazy timelines and obstacles. My brain goes on complete overdrive in finding new innovative solutions to the problems at hand. The word NO is just a 15% percent chance in my world. I believe there is always a loophole and in that 85% percent, I will get at a bare minimum a MAYBE.

I know Leila!

The most FASCINATING part of this test was that when I was done reading through all of my results I randomly thought of my online CV and I read my bio again and I realized that I have been using my results as action words in my descriptions of myself for several years now. In the first 3 words of my starting sentence, the word PASSION can be found.

This was the first test I’ve taken that I looked back and noticed that I know myself much more than I even thought. As a woman who navigates through life in a non-routine and unconventional manner, I hold a constant knowledge of who I am at my core. As a marketer, we’re being consistently challenged to think and move quickly all while trying to engage our audience. If you don’t know who you are first, how could you ever know someone else? I encourage you no matter your practice because we’re all Marketers, to continue your personal growth in learning YOU. That knowledge and security in knowing who you are will drive both you and your work to new heights.

If you have 15 minutes to spare, ask Siri and or Bixby “what’s a fascinate test” or click HERE to see how to FASCINATE yourself.

Stay tuned for next week…

--

--