Nick Ducheine
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJun 29, 2024

--

Restoring a Child-like Creativity Through a New Form of Expression

Many of you reading this article have probably read my bio, but in the famous words of Jay Z “allow me to reintroduce myself” my name is Nick. I am an Events & Marketing Manager here at NYU, who is pursuing his Masters in Integrated Marketing. Writing has never come easy to me which has led to a lack of confidence in such an important form of expression. Through writing people have created alternate universes, spread happiness, educated the world, and have even saved lives. By starting this blog I hope to tap back into my adolescent creativity, that seems to be further out of reach with every orbit around the sun.

“You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have.” — Maya Angelou

When I was younger my imagination was like an artist’s color palette; a tool I used to create works of imaginary art in the simplest of things. From making an action movie with my fingers while in the backseat of my parents car, to envisioning myself playing in an arena full of people during recess. Then as I got older I realized that this once radiant palette was being washed away. I was letting the world dictate how I was supposed to think, leading me to this black and white mindset. A mindset where I imprisoned my passions and sought after other peoples definition of success.

A painting I drew when I was in the elementary school that my Mom has framed in our house. This gives you some perspective on the colorful creativity I once embraced as a child.

“The creative adult is the child who survived.” — ​​Ursula Le Guin

This is why I am excited to begin my blogging journey. I see it as an opportunity to write about topics that interest me, and expressing my view points without seeking validation from others. Sharpening a tool that has become dull throughout the years. By exercising my mind through writing, I hope to form that colorful imagination again. Sparking a creative confidence that my childhood self would be proud of.

--

--

Nick Ducheine
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A young professional getting my Masters in Integrated Marketing at NYU where I currently work as an Events & Marketing manager for the Athletics department.