Review of THE FASCINATE TEST

Jiaqi Han
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readMar 6, 2023

Overall Review

This article is a review of the user experience of the Fascinate Test created by Sally Hogshead. This test is probably the best survey format test I have ever taken, there are basically two reasons for that. First, this test is about how others see you, it’s rare to hear your personal image from others’ perspectives which might be more precise than how you view yourself. Second, there are only 28 simple questions in the test which is not time-consuming and boring.

My archetype

The Trendsetter. According to the report, I am good at sensing what the next big things would be including fashion or gadgets, consumer or business trends. The highest and best value of the trendsetter is that I am able to see opportunities where others see only threats, and I impress with intellect and inventiveness.

Primary and secondary triggers

Innovations and Prestige. When I communicate with these two triggers, I would be more confident and authentic. Actually, I am confident in any circumstances.

True about me?

This report is mostly precise but not 100%. First of all, I like the term trendsetter. It is true that I am sensitive to opportunities, and in some real-life cases, while others can only see the treats I can see the opportunities behind them. But I don’t think I am good enough for the term “ trendsetter”. Talking about innovations, I have to be honest, I see this as one of my biggest weaknesses, I don’t view myself as a creative person. It is true that I always have some good and practical ideas from angles that are not normally recognized by others, but I think this is called critical thinking. I don’t like following instructions, it might be because I am more likely to be special.

Applications in a future career?

In the short term, I would like to get into a campaign company by using my critical thinking and innovating “talent” to design campaigns. In the long run, I will start up my own business once I get the feeling of big changes gonna happen.

Conclusion

It is a fun experience to take the Fascinate Test created by Sally Hogshead. I would recommend all of you take it, it’s beneficial for you to know yourself from others' perspectives.

--

--