Say Hello to Qatar Airways, Going Places Together

Runqi Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 28, 2021

This week, we have started our project and our project company is Delta. Each group member chooses one airline company except Delta, and the company I choose is Qatar Airways. The reason that I choose Qatar Airways is that Delta is not only the top 5 airline in the United States but also famous all over the world. So, I think the airline company cannot be limited to American airlines only.

UX is not easy

UX is not simple, it is not just an evaluation of the products you have already purchased, it is a complete process from potential to completion to feedback. In my opinion, user experience means don’t annoy me + don’t make me wait + don’t make me think.

Today, I will Evaluate Qatar Airways‘s Website UX on both desktop and mobile devices. Also, I added the evaluation of Qatar Airways’s UX on the mobile app, because more and more people are starting to use apps instead of websites.

First of all, I started using Qatar Airways’ mobile app three years ago because the app will be more convenient than the website. The overall feeling of this website and app for me is very pleasant. I think it is a user-centric app and website that hopes to give users the most convenient ticket buying experience. Moreover, for airline websites, their design is usually very simple, because their purpose is to provide users with the most convenient and fastest ticket purchase service, so they will not be as gorgeous and creative as those e-commerce websites. I think Qatar Airways’ website and mobile app are the same at these points. And the content on the website on both desktop and mobile is the same, but the arrangement is a bit different.

Qatar Airways’s app and the website design are the best among so many airlines I have used, simple but somewhat creative. For example, every time you enter the app, it will enter a very beautiful flash for 2s. I like this. Moreover, in addition to the very simple ticket checking and booking functions, the website also adds some scenic pictures of each region, which I think are quite attractive. For example, on the websites of mobile phones and desktops, they added a lot of pictures of landmark buildings in various regions, such as London’s Tower Bridge, the Great Wall of China, and so on. I think their design is more in line with the personality and purpose of the brand, that is, Going Places Together, so that users will not feel that they are just a booking site with no emotions. What’s more, animations, information, and pictures on the website will be more abundant than those on the app.
For the website on both desktop and mobile, I prefer to browse the website on desktop and use the app instead of the website on mobile, because although the current network speed and conversion problems have been solved, I don’t like it. I look at any brand’s website on my mobile phone because I think the screen of the mobile phone is too small. When the website is scaled down, it will make my experience a little worse.

Need A Pivot

I think the user experience design of any app or website needs to present a point in user aesthetics, and I usually use this point as the pivot. Because when I design UX as part of B, I would imagine that customers are hard to conquer, and I need a pivot to support them. Besides the basic visual aesthetics, an important fulcrum in Qatar’s website is simple aesthetics, which is to simplify the entire process of checking, booking, and issuing tickets. Also, responsive design is adopted in every detail of the website, and the size and method of website conversion on mobile phones are very good. But as I said before, the size of the mobile phone screen limits the use of mobile websites. Next, on AI service, for telephone services, they have simple AI conversion problems used in Call Us(24/7), but in the end, they are all accepted by humans. On the Ask us website, they listed various problems and solutions that users may encounter. I think this is very good. Also, I think Qatar Airways’ website incorporates the hallmarks of a fascinating message, that is, it has a discover function.

Users can find local introductions, transportation, attractions, restaurants, and other information according to their destinations. I think these can offer those travel readers very useful and fascinating information. And the existence of these contents can make me feel less boring, I think it is educational, we can have some new understanding of some countries.

In general, Qatar Airways‘s Website UX on both desktop and mobile devices, the app UX on mobile devices are good. I will give them a high score. If you are interested in it, you can try that.

See you next week!

--

--